A sore shoulder

I have had an enforced break from writing due to a very sore shoulder. It has been rather busy recently at our guest house and a direct result of this wonderful season of hospitality is the daily cleaning of our guest rooms. Cleaning is all very well if one is ambidextrous and can produce equally good results whether working with the right or left hands. Unfortunately, yours truly naturally uses the right hand most times, and cleaning 11 rooms and their associated en-suites and bathroom had led to overuse of the right arm – hence the sore shoulder.

Well, I thought I would be clever and try to treat the sore shoulder myself. In the past, I would go to the physiotherapist for treatment; but, whilst she is an excellent physiotherapist, she has also become more and more unaffordable, hence my ‘light bulb moment’ of self-treatment. It was not so smart as it turned out!

My regular readers will know that I come originally from Singapore, where one can buy lotions and potions from the Chinese medicine stores. These contain veritable treasures of esoteric medication, treating everything and anything from a headache to more serious complaints. The smells emanating from a Chinese medicine shop are pungent and strange to the uninitiated. The unusual and unnameable items that sit within huge jars on long laden shelves and reside secretly in drawers upon drawers of darkness deepen the mystery of the whole art of healing.

Great to see a building I know still standing where it should be! This is where I get my Chinese plasters, which are great for relieving sore muscles. (Photo courtesy of www.flickr.com/photos/coolinsights/5722361556/sizes/m/in/photostream.)

This is where I get my Chinese plasters, which are great for relieving sore muscles. (Photo courtesy of http://www.flickr.com/photos/coolinsights/5722361556/sizes/m/in/photostream.)

I only knew two Chinese medicine shops in Singapore, both of which are located in the estate where I once lived. In one of them, I discovered these amazing plasters that were supposed to take away the aches and pains of muscular distress. These plasters are manufactured by the medicine shop itself and have, in the past, worked wonders on my aching shoulders and back. Latterly, however, my skin had reacted badly to the plasters, but I still had a stack in the house – so, I used one of them a few days back.

Ahhh! I was enjoying the pulsing heat creeping into my overworked muscle created by the plaster. The relief was just wonderful, but I knew that I could only use the plaster for a maximum number of hours before removing it. So, the next morning, I tore off the plaster (ouch! – oh, my hair, my hair!). I thought I had pulled a few of the tiny hairs off my skin with the plaster. In actual fact, I had torn off a piece of skin!

Oh my! I went to a mirror and twisted around to take a look. There, the size of a 5-pence piece, was a circle of raw flesh without skin. I thought I would be brave and let it scab over naturally, but soon found, coward as I am, that I could not abide the sting every time my t-shirt collar touched the open sore.

I remembered hearing that Compeed plasters could be used to protect raw blisters until the new skin grew in. My painful sore seemed close enough to a blister. So, time for a piece of Compeed to cover and protect it. Thus, I have now been wearing a piece of Compeed meant for heel blisters on my shoulder!

The other thing I have heard about Compeed is that the plaster will start to fall off once the healing is complete or almost complete. The reasoning behind this is that the Compeed acts as a temporary skin until the new skin has grown under it. I have now had the Compeed on for two days. It is getting all puffed up and may perhaps fall off by the middle of this week. I hope, however, that my surmise regarding Compeed plaster is correct. And that when I finally remove the plaster, I will find soft new skin under it!

blenheim lodge bowness on windermere lake district

Blenheim Lodge is situated in a quiet part of Bowness-on-Windermere and overlooks Lake Windermere. 

Blenheim Lodge . . . panoramic Lake views, peace and tranquillity, nestled against acres of beautiful fields and woodlands, in the heart of the English Lake District National Park.’

Visit our website: www.blenheim-lodge.com

Email: enquiries@blenheim-lodge.com

Telephone: 015394 43440

This entry was posted in Behind the scenes in a B&B, Blenheim Lodge, bowness-on-windermere, cumbria, English Lake District, english lake district, lake district breaks, Singapore and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A sore shoulder

  1. BeWithUs says:

    Hope you’re feeling better already, my friend!

    Take care and be well always~ Cheers!! :D

  2. blodge1 says:

    Still sore! Thanks for your kind thoughts though.

  3. BeWithUs says:

    You’re welcome, my friend!

    Get well soon! Cheers~ :D

  4. Clowie says:

    That sounds painful. I hope you’ve recovered now.

  5. blodge1 says:

    Yes, it’s better, thanks. And thank you so much for reading my posts.

Comments are closed.