Chocolates, anyone?

Do you love chocolates? I do, as long as it is good chocolate and does not contain caramel or toffee, or fondant fruit centres. I am able to eat a lot of chocolate in one sitting, and particularly like nutty or truffle centres.

Working in a guest house means that I have to get up fairly early. I usually read a little of my Bible, then get out of bed, dress, and go up to the kitchen to start cooking. Soon, the guests start entering the dining room for breakfast and there is no rest until the dishes have been washed and arranged in the dishwashers – yep, I am one of those people who cleans her dishes and cutlery before putting them in the dishwasher. Next, depending on the time, I might brew myself a cup of tea or coffee, and then head to the computer with my cup to check emails and update availability.

If, however, I am running late because guests have arrived late for breakfast or we have to check guests out, then I will  go straight to the rooms as soon as I have finished cleaning the dishes. If I am thirsty, I will still make myself a cuppa, but will only sip from it between traipses from the bedrooms I am cleaning and the kitchen, as I start to bring down dirty cups and saucers to wash and rubbish baskets to decant. This is when I become most unhealthy indeed: if there are small chocolates lying about the kitchen, I will eat a few of them each time I come back to the kitchen between cleaning the rooms.

M&Ms with nuts are my downfall. They are not too rich so I can eat lots without feeling queasy, and I like the crunchiness of the nut in the shell and chocolate coating. When I lived in Canada, I used to buy big bags of M&Ms with nuts and would eat a bag a day. Luckily I didn’t have a car and either walked or relied on public transport to get me everywhere, so I did not put on weight!

This morning, the summons bell pinged while I was stuffing my mouth with a couple of M&Ms. We had some guests to check out – and what lovely guests they were. The lady was Barbadian and her husband was Jamaican. Both are Christians and it was nice to share our house with them for the few days they stayed with us.

Many guests come to Blenheim Lodge to celebrate their own special occasions. Earlier this year, I spent a fortnight trying to locate a small manufacturer of quality chocolate so that we can order gift wrapped boxes of chocolates for guests who wish us to arrange some for them on arrival. After a few trials and errors, we found an excellent chocolatier who handmakes some unusual truffles, such as mango, and raspberry with champagne, amongst other flavours. We are now able to provide these chocolates gift wrapped in boxes tied with pretty ribbons to guests who wish to order them prior to arrival. The chocolate truffles come in 6 or 12 per box.

To make more of an occasion of their stay, some guests also order flowers, champagne and cake. Recently, we had a husband ordering a chocolate fudge cake with his own message on it, saying, ‘Love you lots!’ Isn’t that nice? His wife was suitably impressed and he got the well-earned Brownie points I was teasing him about.

Blenheim Lodge is a great place for a special occasion break or a retreat from the hustle and bustle of busy everyday life. Being able to escape for that time of romance or for time on one’s own can be a great means to recharge the batteries. Our quiet guest house provides a comfortable home from home for just such breakaways and our location is nicely secluded without being out of town, making for easy access to attractions and amenities that help to make time away from familiar surroundings that much more convenient and thus enjoyable.

Now, chocolates, anyone?

Enjoy a quiet retreat at Blenheim Lodge. Here is a photo of Lake Windermere with yachts bobbing in the distance, as seen from our lounge and bedroom windows.

‘Blenheim Lodge . . . panoramic Lake views, peace and tranquillity, nestled against acres of beautiful fields and woodlands, in the heart of the English Lake District National Park.’

Visit our website: www.blenheim-lodge.com

Email: enquiries@blenheim-lodge.com

Telephone: 00 44 (0)15394 43440

This entry was posted in Activity Breaks, Behind the scenes in a B&B, Blenheim Lodge, English Lake District, Lake Windermere Views, retreats, Romantic Breaks, Spring breaks and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.