Having fun

Today we said goodbye to a couple who was leaving us after coming here for a visit to celebrate the lady’s birthday. I had been speaking to her husband in the dining room this morning, where he continued with a leisurely breakfast reading the newspapers after she had left the breakfast table, and I asked him how they had come across our guest house. He told me that it was his wife who had found our guest house and booked it, and said I should ask her.

Here is a picture of one of the viewpoints behind our guesthouse, Blenheim Lodge. What a treat of a view for the 'intrepid' walker! (Photo courtesy of www.cumbriaphoto.co.uk.)

The morning went slowly by as I dealt with cleaning the rooms and getting them ready for staying and incoming guests. Then I saw two familiar faces outside in our car park and went out to speak with the couple before they left. Hubby had told them about the beautiful walks at the back of our house and the spectacular views they would enjoy on a bright sunny day like today. Thus, on checking out at our normal time of 10 am, our guests decided take a hike up to the viewpoints and returned to our guest house both invigorated and enthusiastic about the walks and views.

This is the view of Lake Windermere as seen from most of our bedrooms and the guest lounge. Stunning, isn't it?

Going up to them, our guests asked me to thank my husband on their behalf for his suggestion to walk part of the Dales Way and to the viewpoints. I then asked Amanda where she had seen information about our guest house. She told me that she had searched and searched the internet for a couple of days, having seen a programme on TV about a different place in the Lakes. However, when she found our website and scrutinised it, she thought it would be perfect for her and her husband and booked online to stay with us. At which point, she and her husband told us how much they had enjoyed their break: the peace and quiet; their room; sitting in the porch and guest lounge, both of which boast fantastic Lake views; and the walks and viewpoints as well.

Well, we then moved on to what they were going to do after leaving us. Were they staying on in the Lakes for a while before heading home? Amanda told me that they were going to visit Blackwell House, so I offered her a ‘2 for the price of 1’ entry voucher, which is a special arrangement we have with Blackwell House (www.blackwell.org.ukonly for guests staying at Blenheim Lodge.

We had been chatting in our car park all this time, and went back into the house so that I could get her the voucher. This was where the fun began. I brought the voucher out to Amanda and had to take my glasses off to read it. The problem is that my age has now caught up with me, and I need two pairs of spectacles – one for shortsightedness and one for longsightedness. I told Amanda so and said that I was over 50 and could no longer see as well. She, bless her, said she could not believe it, and asked me where my wrinkles were.

Thus the two of us ended up standing in front of the mirror set into the Victorian hall stand, both lifting our fringes and grinning into the mirror trying to see where our wrinkles were and comparing them! What a lark! We were laughing so hard we probably developed more wrinkles just by doing so.

Hubby and I often share much laughter with many of our guests. It’s particularly good fun to listen to familiar guests regaling us with their exploits between visits. Some of our guests are great teasers, and they know that they have a gullible listener in me. One of them, Barrie, is especially good at getting me to believe just about everything he says because he does so with such a straight face. His wife, Elaine, often takes pity on me and says, ‘You know him well enough now. He’s joking!’ Our guests are never cruel with their teasing, so it is simply all great good fun.

Hilarity aside, we do of course take the service we offer to our guests seriously. Our aim is to ensure that they have a comfortable and delightful stay and return home refreshed. Hubby and I always want our guests to feel at home in our B&B, and the bonus comes when we find common ground with our guests, enjoying fun, laughter, sharing and chats together. Now, this is the reason why we continue to do what we do – and the reason why we still enjoy running our B&B.

Welcome to our home, Blenheim Lodge. See the chairs on the porch? This is a great place to sit and enjoy the views over Lake Windermere.

‘Blenheim Lodge . . . panoramic Lake views, peace and tranquillity, nestled against acres of beautiful fields and woodlands, in the heart of the English Lake District National Park.’

Visit our website: www.blenheim-lodge.com

Email: enquiries@blenheim-lodge.com

This entry was posted in B&B guests, Behind the scenes in a B&B, Blenheim Lodge, dales way walk, English Lake District, Lake District weather, Lake Windermere Views, Online Booking, travel, woodland views and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.