A nice end to the day

This morning was busy – 10 rooms to clean and tidy, with rather a few total changeovers. We had a number of guests leaving us today, including a lovely Japanese girl who was taking a quick break with us before heading back to Edinburgh to continue her studies. She popped into the lounge yesterday and sat with me, chatting about this and that regarding her life in Japan and Edinburgh. I really appreciated her taking the time to share a little of her experiences with me and wished that we had more time together to get to know each other properly.

Well, the day dawned bright and beautiful, and our guests were out and about soon after breakfast to take advantage of the lovely sunshine. Some were going mountaineering and others were taking in the sights. All our guests were out and about by around 10:30 am and so the round of cleaning began. There was lots to do and Hubby and I finally finished the cleaning and vacuuming around 1:30 pm.

A quick lunch later and I was wanting to get out. I have been housebound for the last few weeks as I have had lots to do at home. Because Blenheim Lodge is a decent size of house and there is countryside at the back of the house with far-reading Lake and mountain views from the front of the house, I do not feel claustrophobic if I don’t get out. However, I really wanted to get out today because I found out that Kendal library was open even though it is a Sunday. I needed to return some books and thought I would look around to see if there would be any that I would like to borrow.

Twenty minutes later and I was in Kendal and browsing the shelves, having returned two books. By the time I returned home an hour later, Hubby was raring to take the dogs out for a walk, as I think Maddi was starting to cross all four legs! What a lovely day it has been with warm sunshine in our faces and a very slight cool breeze in our hair! The dogs sat outside with Hubby after their walk and then the admiration parade began.

Some of our guests this week have been bowled over by the sheer size and beauty of our two Pyreneans. Zack came bounding up to four Japanese guests earlier this week and had many photos taken. Meanwhile Maddi received her fair share today with lots of pats and photos too. They take it all in their stride, as our late Monty did – although Monty really did play to his admirers very much more!

So it has been a lovely end to a beautiful day. In my mind is today’s tableau of Hubby sitting at the edge of a raised flower bed, with two dogs on leads, one in each hand. The sun is shining brightly down on the scene, and we have a short queue of guests waiting to say hello to our two ‘wee’ babies. Meanwhile two happy dogs sniff the air appreciatively and take the adoration being showered on them in their stride.

It is now well after 10 pm and time for a rest. Both dogs are awaiting their final walk of the day with Hubby. Meanwhile, I am going to avail myself of a book to read as I finally get to relax after my early start at 7:30 this morning. Reading is a favourite hobby of mine. What a perfect way to unwind after a busy day!

Bright blue skies, stunning lake, characterful mountains – what a spectacular scenic setting to enjoy from your room at Blenheim Lodge, our guest house in Bowness-on-Windermere.

‘Blenheim Lodge . . . panoramic Lake views, peace and tranquillity, nestled against acres of beautiful fields and woodlands, in the heart of the English Lake District National Park.’

Visit our website: www.blenheim-lodge.com

Email: enquiries@blenheim-lodge.com

This entry was posted in Activity Breaks, B&B guests, Behind the scenes in a B&B, Blenheim Lodge, bowness-on-windermere, English Lake District, International Visitors, lake district summer break, Lake District weather, Lake Windermere Views, Pyrenean Mountain Dog, retreats, Spring breaks, woodland views and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.