Bingo!

I mentioned in Tuesday’s post that I was going to go shopping today for bedroom accessories. I had been looking for them for a while now and had had no joy – until today. I was intending to go shopping in Kendal or Ulverston originally. However, while doing some research last night on shops that sell soft furnishings, I found a large store in Barrow-in-Furness, and decided to get Hubby to drive me there instead.

We set off late morning after cleaning and tidying the kitchen, dining and guest rooms and reached Barrow 45 minutes later. The sun was shining brightly and the day was hot. As we drove out of Bowness-on-Windermere past Bowness Bay, hoards of people were crowding the pier and The Glebe. Obviously the sunshine had beckoned the crowds and it was jostling room only.

This is Furness Railway no 150 ‘Cumbria’ at Lakeside Station, Lakeside, about 5 miles from Blenheim Lodge, Bowness-on-Windermere. (Photo courtesy of www.visitcumbria.com/sl/lakeside-and-haverthwaite-railway.htm.)

The bright sunshine followed us all the way through Lakeside, where the Lakeside and Haverthwaite Railway is, through Ulverston, at which outskirts we glimpsed empty sea and sand, then on past the turn-off for Dalton-in-Furness, a little place outside Barrow. However, as we continued to head southwards, mist descended upon us. Compared to the heat of Bowness, Barrow felt distinctly chilly with its cloud cover although it was by no means cold.

A view of Bardsea, Ulverston – empty sea and glistening sands close by Ulverston – what a treat for the eyes when travelling along the Cumbria Coastal Way. (Photo courtesy of www.cumbriaphoto.co.uk.)

By this time, we had reached the store I wanted to visit, where I proceeded to spend more than £300 after a 2.5 hour shopping spree. I bought many cushions, both large and small, and a bedspread. Frankly, I had not intended to spend so much, but as I did not know when I would be able to take time out like this again, I thought I had better buy more rather than less.

It was about 2:45 pm by the time I finished shopping. By this time, I was ravenous as I had had no time for breakfast save a mug of tea at 10 am. However, I have to admit that I was feeling very pleased with myself indeed, and was excited about coming back to Blenheim Lodge and re-dressing the beds.

I already had some new throws and cushions in the house and I think I have used them to good effect. Certainly, I was gratified when two Japanese guests currently staying with us for 4 nights were delighted with the new throw and silk and velvet cushions I put in their room. Anyhow, I will post some photos of the rooms once I have them so you can see whether you like them or not.

Blenheim Lodge, a beautifully refurbished guesthouse in Windermere.

Blenheim Lodge: nestling against woodlands and boasting panoramic Lake Windermere views, only a 5-minute walk to the village centre and pier.

‘Blenheim Lodge . . . panoramic Lake views, peace and tranquillity, nestled against acres of beautiful fields and woodlands, in the heart of the English Lake District National Park.’

Visit our website: www.blenheim-lodge.com

Email: enquiries@blenheim-lodge.com

This entry was posted in Activity Breaks, B&B guests, Behind the scenes in a B&B, Blenheim Lodge, bowness-on-windermere, English Lake District, International Visitors, lake district summer break, Lake District weather, travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.