Softly comes the rain

It is raining in Bowness-on-Windermere. It is not a heavy rain, nor is it a tiny mizzle. It is not a drizzle either. It is simply a steady dripping soft rain, with neither wind nor cooling temperatures to accompany it. And, it came stealthily.

I was surprised when I opened the door to four guests some minutes ago to see a rather wet car park. Three of the guests were standing by the doorway, whilst the last was in the process of bringing in their belongings into the guest house. One of them was a tiny baby, approximately three months of age, and swaddled in pretty pink.

Greeting our new guests, I asked how they were and ushered them into our nice dry warm hall. Our guests were a little disappointed as they had hoped for a fine day to tour the Lakes. They had been travelling since 5 am so that they could make the most of their one day in the Lakes. What with the steady fine downpour and tiredness creeping up on them, all they wanted now was to go to bed.

It is 4 pm as I write. These guests had rung us after midnight to book their accommodation, which is rather later than expected when bookings come in by telephone. Thus they probably had less than four hours’ sleep in between booking their accommodation with us and setting off for the Lakes this morning.

I did try to enthuse our new guests about indoor attractions to see and things to do that they could enjoy out of the rain. I could see, however, that all of them were more interested in sleep than anything else, so that put paid to any sightseeing suggestions. When I showed them to their room, I could see them eyeing the beds with great interest. Two minutes ago, one of them rang the doorbell to ask me a question. She was already in her pyjamas.

If you want to get out of the rain . . . . take a leisurely cruise down the Lake to the Lakes Aquarium as part of a day out escaping the rain! Photo courtesy of www.lakesaquarium.co.uk/bowness_in_the_rain.cfm.

As I write, I see that the soft steady rain which had accompanied much of this post has now stopped and the sun is valiantly trying to shine. Hubby has taken the dogs out for walkies and I am glad that it is now dry as Maddi does not take kindly to the rain at all. She might need to do her business but would rather turn and run back into the house than get her thick water-repellant hair wet!

Writing this post has made me recall a song I sang as a child entitled, ‘My Favourite Things’, which was sung by Julie Andrews in the 1965 film, The Sound of Music. It is one of my favourite songs and originates from the 1959 Rodgers and Hammerstein musical, also called The Sound of Music. I think it is a great song for cheering one up when things seem gloomy.

Raindrops on a rose, taken in Keswick, Lake District, by Stewart Cutler. (Photo courtesy of www.flickr.com/photos/swryv/2714375926.) Keswick is in the North Lakes, about a 35-45 minutes’ ride from Blenheim Lodge in Bowness-on-Windermere, South Central Lakes.

Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens
Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens
Brown paper packages tied up with strings
These are a few of my favorite things

Cream colored ponies and crisp apple streudels
Doorbells and sleigh bells and schnitzel with noodles
Wild geese that fly with the moon on their wings
These are a few of my favorite things

Girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes
Snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes
Silver white winters that melt into springs
These are a few of my favorite things

When the dog bites
When the bee stings
When I’m feeling sad
I simply remember my favorite things
And then I don’t feel so bad.

Blenheim Lodge . . . panoramic Lake views, peace and tranquillity, nestled against acres of beautiful fields and woodlands, in the heart of the English Lake District National Park.’

This entry was posted in B&B guests, Behind the scenes in a B&B, Blenheim Lodge, bowness-on-windermere, childhood, cumbria, English Lake District, english lake district, flora and fauna, keswick, lake district scenery, lake district summer break, Lake District weather, Lake Windermere Views, nature reserves, Pyrenean Mountain Dog, Singapore, travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.