‘I want my mommy!’

Zack, our Pyrenean Mountain Dog, loves human company. Specifically, he truly appreciates being with me and has learnt how to recognise the sounds that accompany my movements so that he can pre-empt the latter. Over the past few months, he has developed a knack for anticipating when I will be finished with servicing the rooms so that he can spend time with me – rather accurately in fact.

The amount of time I take to clean our guest rooms can range from an hour to six hours, depending on how much needs to be done. Some guests leave their rooms neat and clean; others do not. Thus, the number of guests we have does not always indicate the amount of time I will require to tidy or make over the rooms. Taking this information to its logical conclusion then, I can safely say that I do not always complete my tasks at the same time each day.

However, Zack has surprised me with his ability to know when I am near completing my chores. As I start to walk from the guest house quarters to our own for the final time after cleaning the rooms, I can hear Zack making his way up the staircase to sit at the top of the stairs in our flatlet. Actually, being so large, Zack sits with his backside on the highest most step, and supports his weight with his forelegs a step or two down.

Then the whining begins. They are small hurting sounds that makes one think that his heart is breaking. Inevitably, I will open the door and Zack will bounce out, all smiles and wagging tail. Then he will start to follow me about until I finally sit down for my lunch, at which time I will either have a large dog sitting by me eagerly looking forward to sharing my lunch or one that will lie contentedly by me if my lunch does not smell interesting enough. Alas! Zack does have a mistress who, though not vegetarian, does enjoy vegetarian food.

This is not Zack, but I think this image and accompanying words say it all! (Photo courtesy of http://imgfave.com/view/2574511.)

Hubby says that I am too soft with Zack. This, of course, is the same man that will lie with his arm over the dog snuggled next to him, while Zack laps up all the lovely attention being showered on him. It really is the pot calling the kettle black here!

Zack is a very loveable and affectionate dog. It is so hard to say ‘no’ to him when he looks at me in a certain way. He is an easy dog to love because he gives all of himself. When speaking to Scottish Pyrenean Rescue one day, the lady who had asked us to adopt him told me that he would die for us. That his how much he loves us. How easy it is to return such unadulterated love!

Thinking about Zack’s uncomplicated affection for his family makes me feel humbled. Why should I deserve such devotion from him? Zack’s unquestioning love for his family reminds me that God Himself loves mankind so much that He gave us His only Son to die on the cross to save us from eternal separation from Him if we will only accept His Son, Jesus, as our Saviour and Lord. I do not deserve God’s love and nothing I do can ever be worthy of Him. Yet He loved me before I was created – enough to take a chance on me and all mankind. Imagine sacrificing one’s child to die in exchange for the life of another: that is what God, the Father did for you and me.

Jesus’ resurrection of course is the key. When He died, He symbolically took upon His shoulders the sins of mankind – all those little and big lies; unkind and hurtful things we do and words we say; the truly evil things mankind perpetrates for the sake of self-aggrandisement, greed, unruly passion that seeks to satisfy the ego without taking thought of others, and more – that those of us who turn to Him in trust and service might also be considered to have died to those sins which separate us from God. When Jesus rose again, He demonstrated His mastery over evil and death. It is His resurrection that is the Christian’s assurance of eternal life with God. Without the resurrection, there is no point in believing in the Christian God as Saviour and Lord, since death will have its final sting.

The words on the picture say it all! Photo courtesy of http://photographyfree4all.files.wordpress.com/2011/04/cross10_2.jpg.

Nothing we do can earn us a place in heaven. Only our personal and active acceptance of Jesus, the Son of God who died for us, as our Saviour will guarantee us a place with Him in the afterlife. And of course, if we are grateful for what He has done for us and love Him, then we will seek to serve Him as our Lord and King. We will want to please Him and want to be with Him in this life and after. We will desire Him. At the risk of sounding a little disrespectful (though this is not intended), we will look up to Him and want to follow Him as much as Zack wants his mommy; and even more – we will want to give all of ourselves!

‘Blenheim Lodge . . . panoramic Lake views, peace and tranquillity, nestled against acres of beautiful fields and woodlands, in the heart of the English Lake District National Park.’

Visit our website: www.blenheim-lodge.com

Email: enquiries@blenheim-lodge.com

Phone: 00 44 (0)15394 43440

 
This entry was posted in Behind the scenes in a B&B, Blenheim Lodge, bowness-on-windermere, christian faith, Christian living, christianity, cumbria, English Lake District, english lake district, Pyrenean Mountain Dog, Rehoming for dogs in Rescue, travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.