Sleepy head, sleepy head, go to bed

My past weeks have been characterised by late nights and early mornings working in the guest house. As a result, I find my eyelids closing of their own volition even when I am watching something interesting on television. Today, after tidying the rooms, I decided I would watch Bargain Hunt, a favourite TV programme of mine where two pairs of contestants seek out antique items to re-sell at auction. There is the thrill of the search, and the excitement of seeing what the items will make at auction. (www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b006nb9z) But do you know what? I found myself dozing off! That’s how tired I am.

The problem with falling asleep in the middle of the day may be alleviated as soon as I begin working in the guest house. It could be doing something as mundane as the laundry or dishes, setting the dining room tables, or answering emails. As long as my hands are busy, I can stop myself from dozing. It is a great trick to have up one’s sleeve and I used it to good effect when I was a student. Getting up and moving about, then returning to one’s studies has the benefit of my having been jolted awake so that I can do what I need to do.

Here is a photo of our dining room at Blenheim Lodge with the Laura Ashley wallpaper you can see in tones of duck egg blue. Setting the tables in the dining room helps alleviate sleepiness and keeps me on my toes.

I am looking forward to the shorter days as Autumn draws near. One reason for my lack of sleep is the fact that I am woken up by the longer and lighter days. Dawn always arrives earlier in Summer and I find my eyes opening as soon as daylight starts to filter through the blinds in our bedroom. Even with a pillow plonked over my eyes, I cannot return to slumberland easily once I have already been awakened. I am waking up before my alarm rings most mornings, but will perhaps find that I will get those extra precious minutes of rest when the sun rises just a tad later in the morning.

Guests at our B&B often tell us how well they sleep when they stay with us. They extol the comfort of their beds and the darkness that comes with black-out or heavy linings in the curtains and blinds in their rooms. I do not like black-out linings, and chose regular blind linings for our own rooms. And although the blinds let the light in, I do not regret it.

One thing that is most conducive to a good night’s sleep is the lack of disturbance in the middle of the night. Being tucked away at the end of a cul de sac and away from the main thoroughfares of Bowness-on-Windermere, Blenheim Lodge does not lack for peace and tranquility for a good night’s sleep. It does depend, of course, also on the guests we have and whether they are respectful of other guests around them. The latter is something we cannot vouchsafe, but over the past 10 or so years, I would say that the majority of our guests are quiet if they come in late. After all, people do choose us for the peacefulness of our guest house.

Blenheim Lodge, a beautifully refurbished guesthouse in Windermere.

Enjoy peace and quiet at Blenheim Lodge, nestling against woodlands and boasting panoramic Lake Windermere views, only a 5-minute walk to the village centre and pier.

I enjoy being busy in the B&B and will happily forgo sleep in order to offer an excellent service to our guests. There is no real hope of early nights in the near future as I have accounts to do and the rest of our YouTube project to complete. Still, I am not complaining. I am just glad that we are in work and able to continue working.

‘Blenheim Lodge . . . panoramic Lake views, peace and tranquillity, nestled against acres of beautiful fields and woodlands, in the heart of the English Lake District National Park.’

Visit our website: www.blenheim-lodge.com

Email: enquiries@blenheim-lodge.com

Phone: 00 44 (0)15394 43440

 
This entry was posted in august bank holiday long weekend, B&B guests, bed and breakfast late availability, Behind the scenes in a B&B, Blenheim Lodge, bowness-on-windermere, cumbria, English Lake District, english lake district, lake district special offers, lake district summer break, late availability, Online Booking, retreats, Romantic Breaks, single rooms for B&B, Special Offers, travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.