Birdsong

Yesterday morning saw me being rather well organised when it came to making the rooms. Instead of stopping for a cup of tea as is my wont after serving breakfast, I decided that I would start tidying the guest rooms which had been occupied the night before straightaway. The first room I started tidying really did not need to be done, as I could see as soon as I opened the door. The gentleman occupying the room is a guest house owner’s dream: neat, clean, with everything in its rightful place.

Having begun on the first room as above, I found myself with a little more time than usual when I entered the second room. It was whilst tidying this room that I suddenly became aware of the birdsong that came warbling through the open windows.

One of the songbirds to be found in the Lake District. (Quote and photo courtesy of www.cumbriaphoto.co.uk.)

Over the past months, I have been so busy moving from one chore to the next that I have only taken passing notice of the Lakeland beauty that surrounds Blenheim Lodge, our Bowness bed and breakfast guest house. But as our feathered friends sang louder and louder as they celebrated the glorious morning, I stopped folding the bath sheets and became still. And it suddenly occurred to me that I had not consciously listened to birdsong in ages!

Now, as the morning sun streamed through the triple bay windows of The Dalesway room, alighting on the Old Gold and Oyster wall colours from the Laura Ashley paint palette so that the bedroom was bathed in a kind of almost mystic glow, the cheerful tweeting of birds enjoying a late Summer’s day reminded me of how much I have missed hearkening to birdsong. There is a kind of joyous abandonment which characterises birdsong, as if all the world is theirs to embrace and there are no cares to sit heavy on their little shoulders.

Writing about this makes me think of the Bible verse, Matthew 6:26:

Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they?

Isn’t that wonderful? We, you and I, are valuable in the Father’s eyes. In fact, we are so important to Him that He made us a gift of His Son, Jesus, to die for us and offer us redemption from our sins through His resurrection, so that we can enjoy eternal life with Him when we leave this earthly life. Meanwhile, whilst still in our earthly bodies, we are just as precious to God, so much so that He becomes our Father by adoption when we come to Him through Jesus – through acceptance of His loving gift of salvation, and making Christ our Saviour and Lord.

Well then, as Christians we should therefore be able to warble as joyfully as the birds of the air because we have God Himself as our Father. I wish I could say that life is a walk in the park when one comes to Christ; but it isn’t. Christians suffer injustices and hardships as much as anyone else, sometimes more. Like the birds of the air, we are vulnerable in this big bad world. But we do have a great Helper, for the Bible says, ‘Cast all your anxiety on Him because He cares for you.’ (1 Peter 5:7)

Just like He cares for the birds. So the next time you hear our feathered friends singing with glad hearts, remember that we too can take joy in their song and sing alongside them with quiet exultation. HE CARES FOR US.

Photo courtesy of www.flickr.com/photos/spencerfinnley/5705841562, accompanied by the following comment: ‘My pastor mentioned this verse in the sermon this Sunday. Loved the image. Little did I know I’d run into this little winged fellow today.’ (Matthew 6:26)

‘Blenheim Lodge . . . panoramic Lake views, peace and tranquillity, nestled against acres of beautiful fields and woodlands, in the heart of the English Lake District National Park.’

Visit our website: www.blenheim-lodge.com

Email: enquiries@blenheim-lodge.com

Phone: 00 44 (0)15394 43440

 
This entry was posted in B&B guests, bed and breakfast late availability, Behind the scenes in a B&B, bible verses, Blenheim Lodge, bowness-on-windermere, christian faith, Christian living, christianity, dales way walk, English Lake District, english lake district, flora and fauna, lake district scenery, lake district special offers, lake district summer break, late availability, Online Booking, prayer, retreats, Romantic Breaks, single rooms for B&B, Special Offers, Spring breaks, travel, woodland views and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.