A long day

Do you ever have one of those days when there is so much to do and it seems impossible to complete everything you had set out to accomplish? Well, I have just had one of those days today. It is now 11 pm and I am just sitting down to dinner. However, as it is so late and I cannot be bothered to cook, I have decided to have some cereal instead.

Today’s timetable started to go awry around 9:35 am. We had five tables to serve for breakfast and six rooms to tidy up or to effect a complete changeover. Breakfast tables are usually cleared by 9:15 on a weekday morning, with all dishes and other utensils, pots and pans rinsed and placed in our two dishwashers by 9:30 am. However, this morning we had two guests arriving late for breakfast, which meant that I was not ready to leave the kitchen to start on the rooms until well after 10 am.

As there are only Hubby and me to do all the work in this guest house, Hubby began cleaning the rooms as soon as they were vacated. Meanwhile, I was helping an Australian couple to book a taxi for a very early morning departure (6 am) later this week. I then made myself a cup of tea to sustain me through the day until such time as I would be finished with cleaning the rooms.

Checking my emails, I found that I had to reply to one regarding the rental of our family flat in Edinburgh. Throughout the day, I kept in touch with the agent and eventually fixed up an appointment for the girls to view the flat. Inbetween, I dealt with phone calls, checked in incoming guests, and tried to get as much administrative work completed as I could. Woefully, I have not done as much as I would have liked to and am thus staying up late tonight to complete work which should have been done yesterday.

However, it was already well after midnight when I went to bed last night, and I was so tired that I could not even find the energy to read a chapter of my book before switching off the light. (Normally, I enjoy reading in bed before going to sleep as it relaxes me.) I think tonight will see me getting to bed well after midnight again, but it cannot be helped.

One, however, has to be thankful for many little mercies. I am sure I will find some lovely photos in the folders from Pui that I have had so much difficulty downloading and saving which we can use for our video presentation. I am also glad that we received a number of new bookings for the guest house today and perhaps also for the flat in Edinburgh. (I will know whether the viewing was successful tomorrow.) In fact, there are so many things that I am thankful for that I could not list them all.

So I shall persevere until I have completed all the urgent tasks that must be completed this week. Next week I will have the dreaded accounts to deal with, plus the VAT returns. Now, if there is something I hate, it is dealing with numbers. Aaaarghhh!

‘Pack up your troubles in your old kit bag, and smile, smile, smile.’ A ‘smiling’ Herdwick ewe taking her summer evening constitutional along a quiet country lane. This is on the the photos Pui took whilst out and about with Hubby and me earlier this Summer.

‘Blenheim Lodge . . . panoramic Lake views, peace and tranquillity, nestled against acres of beautiful fields and woodlands, in the heart of the English Lake District National Park.’

Visit our website: www.blenheim-lodge.com

Email: enquiries@blenheim-lodge.com

Phone: 00 44 (0)15394 43440

 
This entry was posted in B&B guests, bed and breakfast late availability, Behind the scenes in a B&B, Blenheim Lodge, bowness-on-windermere, cumbria, edinburgh, edinburgh holiday apartment, English Lake District, english lake district, lake district special offers, lake district summer break, Online Booking, retreats, Romantic Breaks, scotland, single rooms for B&B, Special Offers, travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.