Autumn is in the air

This morning, as I stood on our porch steps waving goodbye to a couple of German guests who had been staying with us over the last five nights, I found myself looking over to the horizon on my right. As I stood admiring the scenery, I noticed that the vegetation over yonder had turned various shades of earthy tones, from old gold to burnished browns. Although I know that my eyes deceived me, I thought that the surrounding mountains looked like they had a light dusting of snow. Taken altogether, the view was a stunning picture of high light-touched mountains with a smattering of green vegetation overlaid by browns, oranges and golds. In the foreground, the still waters of Windermere seemed to lay inert, with a lone yacht so slowly plying the lake that it looked stationary; its sail was furled because there was not a single hint of breeze.

I think Autumn has arrived or is at least making its way here to Windermere. There is a quality of light in the atmosphere that overlays the scenic environs of our wonderful Lake District with a kind of golden sheen during the early evening. Meanwhile, I have noticed that the air seems to be just that little bit more chilly despite the latent heat of the day. There is an inherent beauty in this change of the seasons, and I love it!

Autumn in the Lakes: I love the quality of light that is diffused in the atmosphere and reflected in the waters of the Lake District during the Autumn months. This is a photo of Lake Windermere, with the Langdale Pikes (mountains) in the background. (Photo courtesy of www.cumbriaphoto.co.uk.)

My only regret is that the days are getting shorter too, and soon my sons, who are both in tertiary education, will have to travel in the dark between college and home, and university and home. Like any mother hen, I worry that inclement weather as Winter draws nigh will affect their travel safety. I am not as worried for my younger boy as he is travelling within a city. However, my older boy will be travelling on the motorways or go by rail, and I know that I will not rest until I know he is safe home.

Blenheim Lodge is open year round except for Christmas. We are in a good location for viewing the stupendous Autumn colours of the Lakes, especially as we have fantastic views of Lake Windermere and the woodlands of The Dales Way. Look out of your windows across Lake Windermere and you will see stands of flora covering the surrounding mountains across the water. Take a good look at the view: it is like looking at an oil painting; as rich and vibrant as the life that teems on and around the Lake.

Autumn in the Lakes: the flame-touched leaves of this tree stand out against a bright blue sky. Stunning! (Photo courtesy of www.cumbriaphoto.co.uk.)

As usual, it is possible to book our rooms online if you wish, but do check out the special offers on our website which are available for direct bookings only. Email or telephone us with your requests, and if your dates fall within the perimeters of our special offers, you will be able to take advantage of them. Come and stay for a special occasion or simply to get away from the hubbub of life. A little break away – or come to think of it, a proper holiday – is always an excellent way to recharge those batteries!

‘Blenheim Lodge . . . panoramic Lake views, peace and tranquillity, nestled against acres of beautiful fields and woodlands, in the heart of the English Lake District National Park.’

Visit our website: www.blenheim-lodge.com

Email: enquiries@blenheim-lodge.com

Phone: 00 44 (0)15394 43440

 
This entry was posted in Activity Breaks, autumn break special offer, B&B guests, bed and breakfast late availability, Behind the scenes in a B&B, Blenheim Lodge, bowness-on-windermere, cumbria, English Lake District, english lake district, Fishing Breaks, flora and fauna, International Visitors, lake district scenery, lake district special offers, lake district summer break, Lake District weather, Lake Windermere Views, late availability, nature reserves, Online Booking, retreats, Romantic Breaks, single rooms for B&B, Special Offers, travel, woodland views and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.