I’m back!

After an absence of a month from blogging, I’m back! Over the past weeks I have been kept so busy with write ups for a YouTube initiative that I haven’t had time for anything else except what has been strictly needful. Sleep was one of the first things to disappear from my schedule except for the bare minimum required. I felt like a walking zombie at times!

So why was I being kept so busy with the YouTube project? Well, as those of you who have been reading my blog will know, we at Blenheim Lodge Bed and Breakfast managed to get 150 hours of funding through an EU programme for a graduate to help us with social media. We jumped at the opportunity as Hubby and I are hopeless with technology. Thus, Pui came into our lives.

The unfortunate thing is that everything came to a head in late summer when Pui had the go overseas and the project was due to be finished. On her return, I – not Hubby, who does not like writing and is even less technically able than I am – had to meet deadlines that Pui set as she had other things to get on with. Unfortunately, this wasn’t as easy due to my other administrative and work commitments at the guest house.

So began the long days and nights of writing script for the YouTube project on Blenheim Lodge, sourcing and proofing the music for the videos and, latterly, researching facts and photographs and writing pieces for the accompanying videos about the Lake District in general. This morning, I finished the last of the write ups. Hurray!

However, there is more yet to do. There are second proofs to go through for the guest house aspect of the videos. The Lake District videos will require proofing once Pui has set them up, after which I will need to source the music for these too – all very time-consuming processes. I think Pui wants to get everything out of the way by the end of the first week of November. I shall just have to lose more sleep!

I am savouring the fact that tonight, for the first time in months, I will be able to sit quietly to read and go to sleep early-ish. Staying up until 2-4 am and getting up between 7-8 am each day over the past month has not been easy. As I said to Pui, I am not young anymore and cannot keep up with her in the all-nighter stakes.

I am looking forward to seeing what a completed video will look and sound like. I have never done anything like this before and it has been a learning experience. Until September 2012, I had never alighted on a YouTube page on the internet, much less looked for royalty-free music to use. The next thing I will need to do will be to go into the innards of the thing, that is, my account, and learn to put in tags and information relating to the videos.

Well, I shall leave you now with a photo of one of the places I wrote about in the Lake District section for YouTube. I hope you will like it as much as I do. And, if you have been inspired by the picture and want to join us in the Lakes, do contact us for information about a B&B stay at our Lodge. You will be made most welcome.

A stunning view of the Grasmere fells in Autumn. (Photo courtesy of www.cumbria.co.uk.)

‘Blenheim Lodge . . . panoramic Lake views, peace and tranquillity, nestled against acres of beautiful fields and woodlands, in the heart of the English Lake District National Park.’

Visit our website: www.blenheim-lodge.com

Email: enquiries@blenheim-lodge.com

Phone: 00 44 (0)15394 43440

 
This entry was posted in autumn break special offer, B&B guests, bed and breakfast late availability, Behind the scenes in a B&B, Blenheim Lodge, cumbria, English Lake District, english lake district, grasmere, lake district scenery, lake district special offers, Lake District weather, late availability, Online Booking, retreats, Romantic Breaks, single rooms for B&B, Special Offers, travel, woodland views and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.