Computers

Ah, the joys of the computer age! When the computer is working properly, all is well. I do not need to understand how it works; I simply need it to work! When the computer is ill, then office work might suffer. How we do rely on computers!

This gorgeous view can be seen from most of our bedrooms at Blenheim Lodge, as well as from the lounge and porch. One Japanese visitor, an artist, painted this view as a keepsake of her visit to our guest house.

I remember an age when most everything to do with writing, photography, reading etc was done within a less technological framework. I did not grow up with computers in school, and did not learn how to type until I was 20 years old – and that, out of necessity! Now, even the littlest of kids can use a mobile phone and tap at it to play games or text messages.

But back to my computer problem. I have an Apple Mac, and iphoto is not working. A month or two back, I had to have the hard drive changed altogether because the computer was failing. Then, a couple of weeks ago, I noticed that iphoto was working intermittently, but not properly. It did not concern me much at the time, but when it finally flashed a message at me to say that it was damaged, I thought I had better get in touch with Apple to get it sorted out.

Blenheim Lodge looks rather imposing in this photograph. However, the exterior belies the inner warmth and cosiness of this family home, which we love to share with our guests.

So here I am, sitting and typing this post whilst being put on hold by Apple to try and get a senior technician to deal with my 2.5 year old Mac. I had already spoken to an automated voice and then been put on hold for a few minutes in order to speak to a first level technician. After what felt like over 1.5 hours of speaking with him, the problem was still unresolved. Thus his decision to link me to a senior technician.

Well, after a wait of 10 minutes, I was put through to the technician, and you now have one happy bunny who has seen the problem resolved on her computer. The senior guy took approximately 10-15 minutes to sort out the problem, and if I had been able to speak with him originally, I would not have had to stay on the phone for 2 hours! Computer are great when they work; but so frustrating when they do not!

Having retrieved my iphoto images, I am now in a position to share a few photos with you in this post. I hope you like them as much as I do. Enjoy!

A Windermere Cruise ferry makes its way across Lake Windermere in this far-reaching view from The Attic and The Eyrie, two of our bedrooms at Blenheim Lodge.

‘Blenheim Lodge . . . panoramic Lake views, peace and tranquillity, nestled against acres of beautiful fields and woodlands, in the heart of the English Lake District National Park.’

Visit our website: www.blenheim-lodge.com

Email: enquiries@blenheim-lodge.com

Phone: 00 44 (0)15394 43440

 
This entry was posted in bed and breakfast late availability, Behind the scenes in a B&B, Blenheim Lodge, bowness-on-windermere, computer, cumbria, English Lake District, International Visitors, japanese guest at lake district bed an breakfast, lake district holiday, lake district winter break, memories, photography, school days, Singapore, Special Offers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.