Dentist’s appointment

A fortnight ago, I had visited my dentist for a routine check-up. Nothing was wrong with my teeth, but my dentist had discovered a white patch on the soft tissue and asked me whether it was painful. I shook my head – well, I could not do otherwise with a dental instrument stuck in my mouth! Ever careful, my dentist wanted me to return a month later to see if the patch was still there.

Since then, I have experienced a small, then increasing, discomfort in the area. Today, my mouth felt swollen so I asked for an emergency appointment with my dentist. Hubby drove me to the dentist for a 2 pm appointment, and I said I would walk back because it was such a bright sunny day, very cold but with no wind.

Well, the upshot is that the dentist took an X-ray of the problem area and then consulted another dentist for a second opinion. Neither she nor her colleague could pinpoint the cause of the inflammation and the upshot is that I now have a hospital appointment to look forward to. Pray God it will not be something sinister!

Having seen the dentist, I then decided to walk down the main Lake Road that connects Windermere, where the dental clinic is, to Bowness-on-Windermere, where Blenheim Lodge, our guest house, is. Lake Road, which goes by a number of names depending on which section of it one is on, was busy. Traffic zoomed past me, and soon I began to experience that peculiar tightness and soreness in the throat which I always get whenever I smell exhaust fumes.

Trees and fields behind Blenheim Lodge

A breath of clean country air! Here is a picture of the woodlands and fells directly behind our guest house. Guests can see this same view just yards from their room when staying in The Dalesway room. The white splodges you see are sheep at pasture.

I felt a sense of relief as I turned into Langrigge Drive, a little road that leads off the main Lake Road, which at that juncture would have been called Crag Brow. Langrigge Drive is lined with pretty homes, an oasis of quiet and a welcome change from the noise of cars cutting along at a fine pace on the main road. At the end of Langrigge Drive, I turned left to the top of Brantfell Road, and thus made my way to Blenheim Lodge and home.

Blenheim Lodge is a mere 3-minute walk from Crag Brow, but what a difference is to be found in the air quality. Set at the end of a cul-de-sac against a backdrop of trees and open countryside, there is no cause for traffic to come zooming past, and the only vehicles that come up this way do so because they have a reason to. The quiet surroundings meant that I could hear the birds singing again. It also meant that I could breathe freely again, and I knew that the soreness in my throat would ease up after 3-4 hours.

As I walked up the steps from our car park onto the porch, I turned round and looked out over the horizon to the north of Lake Windermere. A stunning vista of striated blue, white and gold skies greeted me. Mountain tops were capped with snow, whilst their flanks glowed with bright orange, red and caramel shades. It was such a lovely view to return to, after walking along a busy ‘smelly’ thoroughfare for the last 15-20 minutes.

My son took this photo of the view from our front porch at Blenheim Lodge today. Aren’t the colours gorgeous? Guests can see this view from practically all our bedrooms and our lounge.

I think that I probably appreciate our beautiful Lakeland views from Blenheim Lodge more than ever before since doing that little walk today. I would usually have driven as I am normally in a hurry. Today saw a change of pace, with time for a short walk between one town and another.

The main road in Bowness-on-Windermere is a continuation of Lake Road, and is similarly busy. However, Blenheim Lodge is not situated on the main road, so we do not suffer the fumes and noise of traffic and crowds. What can I say? Appreciate what you have because the grass is not always greener on the other side. Yes, main road guest accommodation providers have the advantage of much footfall from passing trade; but we have the quadruple blessings of fresh clean air; spectacular Lake, mountain, and pastoral views; The Dales Way Walk, pretty open countryside and viewpoints at the back; and the sound of silence. Now, that is a GIFT indeed!

Here is another photo my son took of the view from Blenheim Lodge. That is our car park, and you can see one of the triple bay windows close up to the right of the photo. Hubby, who enjoys gardening, planted the flower troughs.

‘Blenheim Lodge . . . panoramic Lake views, peace and tranquillity, nestled against acres of beautiful fields and woodlands, in the heart of the English Lake District National Park.’

Visit our website: www.blenheim-lodge.com

Email: enquiries@blenheim-lodge.com

Phone: 00 44 (0)15394 43440

 

This entry was posted in august bank holiday long weekend, autumn break special offer, B&B guests, bed and breakfast late availability, Behind the scenes in a B&B, Blenheim Lodge, bowness-on-windermere, christian faith, Christian living, christianity, cumbria, dales way walk, Easter breaks, English Lake District, english lake district, International Visitors, japanese guest at lake district bed an breakfast, lake district breaks, lake district holiday, lake district romantic breaks, lake district scenery, lake district special offers, lake district summer break, Lake District weather, lake district winter break, Lake Windermere Views, late availability, may public holiday long weekend, New Year breaks in the Lake District, Online Booking, prayer, Romantic Breaks, single rooms for B&B, Special Offers, Spring breaks, travel, Winter break in the Lake District, woodland views and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.