Music

Today I discovered a new piece of music quite by accident. I was trawling Youtube in search of music to use in videos about the Lake District as a means of promoting Blenheim Lodge, our guest house in Bowness-on-Windermere, when I came across Vivaldi’s Oboe Concerto in A Minor, RV 461. The first movement has a really jaunty air and makes one want to get up and do a little jig. The second movement is slower, and then comes a final fast movement, which has a get up and go beat about it.

The concerto was played by the Boston Accompanietta and conducted by Taichi Fukumura (www.youtube.com/watch?v=1XQmlRYgGC0). Fukumura is very charismatic in his conducting style: it was like watching a dancer caught up in the rhythm of the music. There was panache in the way in which he communicated with the players. I could have watched him for ages.

The solo oboist was absolutely thrilling to listen to: he produced a sound quality that displayed the lightness and brightness that are eminently suited to the first allegro non molto movement of this piece. I loved the way in which he made the oboe trill and dance to the melody.

The oboe has a naturally sad sound with its rounded nasal tones. In the Larghetto movement, Paul Lueders, the oboist, literally made the oboe sing. He was of course very ably supported by the other members of this orchestra.

Vivaldi’s third Allegro movement does not seem to me to have as catchy a tune as the first movement. Nonetheless, I admire him and other composers for being able to write all that wonderful music. When I listen to works by the classical greats, I am in wonder of just how gifted they were. Imagine being able to hear in your head, and then transcribe, all the numerous lines of music for each instrument and voice so as to make a cohesive masterpiece! What fabulous talent!

My only regret is that so many of these composers died young. Just think of how much more they could have written and shared with the world if they had lived longer lives. Much of their music glorifies God; because, I think, that many of them believed that all the world and their prodigious talents were God-given. Whether they lived sober lives dedicated to God was another matter between their Creator and themselves.

As I search for tunes on Youtube that I might safely use without infringing copyright, I keep coming across more and more music that is new to me. Oftentimes, I also find that I know a piece of music, but not necessarily its title. It is a learning curve, and I am enjoying it. Now, if only I could simply concentrate on the music, instead of trying to find those pieces that will work with my texts and images, so that it is not a working exercise – that would be bliss indeed!

Wastwater in the Lake District - one of the photos that will appear in a video write-up I am doing for YouTube.

Wastwater in the Lake District – one of the photos that will appear in a video write-up I am doing for YouTube. (Photo courtesy of www.cumbriaphoto.co.uk.)

‘Blenheim Lodge . . . panoramic Lake views, peace and tranquillity, nestled against acres of beautiful fields and woodlands, in the heart of the English Lake District National Park.’

Visit our website: www.blenheim-lodge.com

Email: enquiries@blenheim-lodge.com

Phone: 00 44 (0)15394 43440

 

This entry was posted in aira force, Behind the scenes in a B&B, bowness-on-windermere, christianity, church, classical music for YouTube, Climbing in the Lake Disstrict, Crufts 2012, cumbria, edinburgh, hair cut, lake district special offers, loughrigg tarn, marriage, nature reserves, New Year breaks in the Lake District, Online Booking, prayer, retreats, scotland, ullswater, vintage car shows in the lake district and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.