‘O taste and see . . .’

Today’s post will be one, I hope, of encouragement. Whilst having some quiet time this morning, the lyrics of a chorus which I had learnt as a teenager crept into my mind. I have looked them up on the internet in order to identify the author, but have not succeeded in my search. However, the words and tune of this little song remain fresh in my memory.

O taste and see, that the Lord is good;

How blessed is the man, who trusts in Him.

For I sought the Lord, and he answered me;

And set me free, from all my fears.

Chorus

I will give thanks to Him, for He is good

His mercy endures forever more.

The main theme of this chorus combines Psalm 34:8: ‘O taste and see that the Lord is good: blessed is the man that trusts in Him’ and Psalm 34:4: ‘I sought the Lord, and He heard me, and delivered me from all my fears.’ Barnes explains:

O taste and see – This is an address to others, founded on the experience of the psalmist. He had found protection from the Lord; he had had evidence of His goodness; and he asks now of others that they would make the same trial which he had made.

(Quote from http://bible.cc/psalms/34-8.htm)

In this modern world of new sciences and technological advancements, there is more faith placed in what might comprise the god factor than in God Himself. Moreover, many people quite rightly question not only the existence of God but also His omnipotence, mercy and righteousness. However, short of going into biblical study and exegesis, what I would say is that the psalmist’s experience so many millennia ago is often still the experience of present-day believers.

'I sought the Lord and He answered me. (Photo courtesy of https://versaday.com/Months/01/0111.aspx.)

A verse that offers great comfort when sometimes I feel adrift and helpless in rough storms too. (Photo courtesy of https://versaday.com/Months/01/0111.aspx.)

Life for Christians is not always sunny and on the up. Think of the apostles who suffered so incredibly for their faith! Believers ride the roller coaster of life like most everyone. Despite a deep belief, we might waver in our faith; and we must remind ourselves to look back on what the Lord has done for us in the past, that we might continue in hope towards the future. I know this from personal experience.

Thus, I found the lyrics of this chorus encouraging when they came into my mind today. It is a song of remembrance and hope. It reminds believers that we are not alone: there is a higher power – an omnipotent I AM – who loves us and takes a personal interest in us all. He is aware of all our joys and sorrows. He takes pleasure in rejoicing with us, but also longs to comfort us in our sadness and frailty. And when we trust in Him, He is able to free from all our fears. (Not an easy lesson, and one to learn over and over again!)

This entry was posted in Behind the scenes in a B&B, bible verses, blessing, christian faith, Christian living, christianity, prayer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.