Thoughts on a Lakeland winter

I love the Lakes in the winter, despite its sometimes freezing weather. I always feel that if one dresses warmly, ensuring that one’s head is covered and one’s feet warmly shod, then touring through some of Lakeland’s countryside should be quite rewarding. (Please note that I am not talking about serious hikes or walking expeditions here.)

The Lake District is open all year round for visitors, and there is much to be said for taking advantage of the less crowded Lakes for more elbow room. The scenery is stunning; the food is good; the shops are open; the attractions are great; and the locals are friendly. All things considered, I feel that visiting the Lakes in winter is a lovely idea!

One of the things I like about the Lake District in winter is the potential advent of snow. I am aware of the dangers of ice, particularly on roads and sidewalks. And I know that ice and snow are closely linked in winter. Nonetheless, I do love the picture postcard scenery of snow-covered landscapes, where everything looks pristine and bright. However, I do have one regret: I feel very sorry for the poor animals stuck outside in the freezing cold!

sheep kirkstone pass lake district

‘Brrr . . . It’s cold!’ Herdwick sheep on Kirkstone Pass near Bowness-on-Windermere. (Photo courtesy of www.lakelandcam.com.)

Despite enjoying the Lakes in winter, I do have one particular bugbear – and that is when roads are left in treacherous conditions because they have not been properly gritted. I almost had an accident once when I drove down a hill. The council had removed roadside grit bins so that residents could not grit road surfaces themselves. On top of that, the gritter had failed to grit the road properly. As a result, I found my vehicle slipping and sliding down a steep hill.

Another vehicle was coming up the incline on the right hand side of the road towards me. I thought that if someone was to die, then I should limit that someone to just one person – me. So, I veered to the left of this very narrow road; and through instinctive action, I began to pump the brakes as I turned the steering wheel to my left. Pumping the brakes gave me some much needed traction on the road, and slowed my vehicle down. In fact, it worked so well that I was not only able to avoid the upcoming vehicle but also able to stop sliding. Praise God! I had surely thought I would face my Maker that day!

I believe that everyone should drive sensibly and with care during the winter. However, it is up to the council or government bodies to which we pay high taxes, to look after the roads. That winter saw a number of serious incidents, and residents wrote constantly and and spoke up vociferously about the dangers of not properly gritting the roads. I am glad to see that two years on, the powers that be seem to have heeded our concerns.

Well, Hubby and I would like to extend a warm welcome to our B&B if anyone is thinking of visiting the Lakes this winter or at anytime of the year. We cannot promise snow, but we can promise a friendly home from home to our guests. Feel free to contact us for late availability offers or any other special Bed and Breakfast packages. Perhaps even spend a romantic Valentine’s break here. It will be nice to introduce our lovely Lake District to you all.

A fireplace with a tray of tea, newpapers and magazines to read - come and enjoy our lounge at Blenheim Lodge.

Take a winter break at Blenheim Lodge B&B. Relax in our cosy lounge by the fireplace; read your newspaper in peace; enjoy a cup of tea or coffee . . . just bliss!

Blenheim Lodge . . . panoramic Lake views, peace and tranquillity, nestled against acres of beautiful fields and woodlands, in the heart of the English Lake District National Park.’

Visit our website: www.blenheim-lodge.com

Email: enquiries@blenheim-lodge.com

Phone: 00 44 (0)15394 43440

 

This entry was posted in Activity Breaks, B&B guests, bed and breakfast late availability, Behind the scenes in a B&B, Blenheim Lodge, bowness-on-windermere, Climbing in the Lake Disstrict, English Lake District, english lake district, fell walking, International Visitors, lake district breaks, lake district holiday, lake district scenery, lake district special offers, Lake District weather, lake district winter break, late availability, retreats, romance, Romantic Breaks, snow in lake district, Special Offers, travel, valentine's day lake district break, Walking breaks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.