Romance in white

I woke up this morning and caught a glimpse of the outside world from the window beside my bed. I did not have my spectacles on, but thought that it looked a little white. A minute later, and I had ascertained that it was something white I could see through the glass. Next, I walked up the stairs to double check from the kitchen windows that my eyes had not deceived me. Yup! I was right. Snow!

I could hardly believe it. I had not watched the news the night before, nor had I heard a gritter coming up the road, so I was not expecting any snow. However, my son told me later that morning that snow had been forecast but that all would cease at 3 pm. Well, 3 pm came and went but the snow continued to fall quickly and silently, leaving a carpet of approximately two inches of pristine white.

valentine's card, doves and hearts

The metaphor of mated birds on Valentine’s Day is aptly depicted in this vintage Valentine’s card. (Image courtesy of http://domiciliumdeluxe.blogspot.co.uk.)

Oh, the trees looked so pretty in their white coats. Looking out of The Dalesway, my favourite bedroom in our B&B, I saw the usual stand of sparse woodland delicately dressed in white. A few small birds flew amongst their branches, creating a nuance of romance, particularly when associating them with Chaucer’s medieval lovebirds of so long ago. It looked a bright and happy scene as I took the AA inspector, who had unexpectedly booked a night to stay incognito at our guest house last night, into The Dalesway room. She too was thrilled to see the view.

Our inspection went very well indeed and feedback was positive. I showed the inspector around all our bedrooms, and she commented on how spotlessly clean everything was. She really liked the quality of our furniture and furnishings, which was nice as, where we had changed the decor and furniture, it was I who had chosen them all. She was much impressed with the comfortable (single) room and bed she had experienced the night before, and said so as I showed her that all our beds are handcrafted and topped with bespoke handmade mattresses. As I enjoy the quality, feel and history of antiques and old buildings, I was really pleased when she also commented on how much she liked the fact that we had retained the Victorian character of Blenheim Lodge. Our AA inspector had noticed that we had decorated our 1868 guest house in a modern, yet sympathetic way, and that our judicious use of antique furniture was in keeping with our grand old lady’s period charm.

blenheim lodge, lake district, bowness on windermere

Plan a last minute break. Stay in The Langdale and enjoy your beauty sleep in this magnificent antique four-poster bed.

Tomorrow is Valentine’s Day, so it will be a day of romance in white if there is snow still lying around. It actually stopped snowing around 4 pm today, and what snow there is is supposed to melt away tomorrow. We shall see. Personally, I would like to see it lying on the ground and glinting in the sunshine. Unblemished snow sparkling in the sun will look incredibly beautiful against the gorgeous backdrop of lakes and mountains.

Meanwhile, if anyone is still looking for a romantic getaway, we still have last minute rooms available at Blenheim Lodge. Why not take a break in the Lake District and see all this beauty for yourselves? Surely a nice quiet retreat at Blenheim Lodge, away from the hustle and bustle of life as a special treat, will not go amiss! Make a spontaneous escape for a night or more. Come and enjoy views of Lake Windermere, the mountains and countryside with us from our bedrooms. You would be made very welcome at our B&B.

lake windermere from blenheim lodge, lake district

This is the view of Lake Windermere as seen from most of our bedrooms and the guest lounge. Stunning, isn’t it?

Blenheim Lodge . . . panoramic Lake views, peace and tranquillity, nestled against acres of beautiful fields and woodlands, in the heart of the English Lake District National Park.’

Visit our website: www.blenheim-lodge.com

Email: enquiries@blenheim-lodge.com

Telephone: 015394 43440

This entry was posted in B&B guests, bed and breakfast late availability, Behind the scenes in a B&B, Blenheim Lodge, bowness-on-windermere, cumbria, English Lake District, english lake district, lake district breaks, lake district holiday, lake district romantic breaks, lake district scenery, lake district special offers, Lake District weather, lake district winter break, Lake Windermere Views, late availability, retreats, Romantic Breaks, snow in lake district, Special Offers, travel, valentine's day lake district break, Winter break in the Lake District, woodland views and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.