‘God . . . careth for me’

The past few mornings have seen me wakening in the mornings with the lines of an old children’s hymn I learnt in Sunday School thrumming through my brain. Perhaps I have been going to sleep mulling over the effects of the UK’s 2013 economy or perhaps the Lord is simply reminding me that He cares for me and mine, which is infinitely reassuring. The song goes thus:

1. God, who made the earth,
The air, the sky, the sea,
Who gave the light its birth,
Careth for me.

2. God, who made the grass,
The flow’r, the fruit, the tree,
The day and night to pass,
Careth for me.

3. God, who made the sun,
The moon, the stars is He
Who, when life’s clouds come on,
Careth for me.

4. God, who made all things
On earth, in air, in sea,
Who changing seasons brings,
Careth for me.

Sunset over the Solway, off Maryport, in Cumbria. (Image by Andrew Heptinstall courtesy of www.cumbriaphoto.co.uk.)

‘God who made the earth, the air, the sky the sea, Who gave the light its birth, careth for me.’ Sunset over the Solway, off Maryport, in Cumbria. (Image by Andrew Heptinstall courtesy of http://www.cumbriaphoto.co.uk.)

I revel in the fact that the God I worship is such a personal God. He cares for meAnd, not just for me, but for each and everyone of us, irregardless of whether we believe in Him or not. However, for those of us who trust in God, He is our Father, the One who cares for you and for me and all whom we hold dear. We know Him and, having confidence in His faithfulness toward us, we call on Him for help.

There is an inherent solidity that is very attractive in the God ‘who made all things’. Since the birth of Man, Everyman has known a planet that comprises earth, air and sea – and the effects of the changing seasons therein. So it is with our own lives – my lifeThe seasons change; and we experience the ups and downs of life. But God is the one constant and He does not change. Despite what Everyman might attribute to His character, we read in Hebrews 13:8 that ‘Jesus is the same yesterday, and today, and forever.’ And His love is eternal: ‘I have loved thee with an everlasting love.’ (Jeremiah 31:3)

I sometimes wonder how so many people manage without God. There is, of course, the ongoing debate regarding His reality and relevance to 21st century living. Yet, numerous people continue to search for spiritual guidance or, at least, a spiritual outlet. Someone once said to me that there is a ‘God-shaped hole’ in each and everyone of us; and only God can fill it. Perhaps this is the reason why many unbelievers will call out to God and resort to prayer when they encounter difficulties in their lives.

Matthew 6:26: God cares for all His creation. (Photo courtesy of http://crossmap.christianpost.com/backgrounds/much-more-1619.)

Matthew 6:26: God cares for all His creation. (Photo courtesy of http://crossmap.christianpost.com/backgrounds/much-more-1619.)

I suppose my post today reflects the encouragement that I gain from reading God’s Word and relying on His truth. I yearn to hear His still small voice. God’s caring does not simply concern what some might consider the nebulous afterlife. He is actively interested and wants to be intimately involved in looking after us in the here and now. Witness James 2:16, where the writer echoes Jesus’ teaching: ‘If one of you says to him, “Go, I wish you well; keep warm and well fed,” but does nothing about his physical needs, what good is it?’

Is it not wonderful that God, the great and awesome Creator, stoops down to each of us who calls out to Him? I do not know of any other faith that preaches a God who is as personal in His love for us as the great I AM. God is no puppet magician who will wave a wand on our behalf and make all things whole. He alone knows His reasons, times and seasons: thus we may not always get what we want straightaway or at all. In fact, we may even get something entirely different from what we asked for! However, faith is a precious thing; and my prayer is that the God who ‘careth for me’ will continue to increase the believer’s  faith so that he or she may the more surely trust Him.

This entry was posted in bible verses, christian faith, Christian living, christianity and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.