Springtime in the snow?

Well, h-e-l-l-o Spring! Our son woke up to a little shock this morning as he rushed from his room to get out in time for university. I heard an ‘Argh’, and wondered whether he might have discovered the white stuff. Yesterday was bright and sunny, but the air had had that chilly quality of impending snow, and one of our guests had predicted precipitation today. Five minutes later and my son put his head round the door to bid me goodbye. ‘I’m taking the Discovery,’ he said. ‘It’s snowing.’

I found a really good picture of new budding daffodils in the snow that was snapped by Tony Richards of Lakeland Cam. I think the photo quite literally encapsulates the approach of Spring untimely trammelled by Winter’s grasp.

daffodils, coniston, lake district

Daffodils by the wayside are covered with new snow on Lake Road, Coniston. (Image courtesy of http://www.lakelandcam.co.uk.)

Tony Richards has a really good site, and I have found it an incredible source of images of the Lakes. Here is another photo he posted today on http://www.lakelandcam.co.uk which I thought rather playful (pardon the pun). Springtime is for playing outside amidst budding greenery and balmier weather. But what a statement the picture below makes of our current weather!

I've been deserted! Where are the kids?

‘I’ve been deserted! Where are the kids?’ wonders this horse in a Coniston playground.

Well, the kids might have gone home to warm up, but the wildlife is certainly out at play. I smiled when I saw this playful image of a red squirrel leaping over a small and pristine snowdrift.

Photo courtesy of Westmorland Gazette, dated 22 March 2013.

Photo courtesy of Westmorland Gazette, dated 22 March 2013.

It has snowed non-stop since I awoke this morning, but the snowfall is supposed to wane overnight according to one of our newly arrived guests this afternoon. I am not certain whether I want it to stop or not, as I love the snow. Earlier this year, in mid-January, a couple arrived at our place during a huge snowfall. They re-booked to return this weekend. Their greeting on arrival? ‘We must bring the snow’.

I hope this latest snowfall will not affect late availability bookings for us at Blenheim Lodge. We still have B&B accommodation available in the coming week and also Easter public holiday long weekend. I will just have to hope and pray that visitors will not be put off by the snow and that we will manage to fill up.

blenheim lodge, bowness-on-windermere, lake district

Come stay with us at Blenheim Lodge. This is The Fairfield, our largest room with lovely views to the north of Lake Windermere which can be enjoyed whilst lazing on the antique daybed in its huge triple floor to ceiling windows.

Blenheim Lodge . . . panoramic Lake views, peace and tranquillity, nestled against acres of beautiful fields and woodlands, in the heart of the English Lake District National Park.’

Visit our website: www.blenheim-lodge.com

Email: enquiries@blenheim-lodge.com

Telephone: 015394 43440

 
This entry was posted in B&B guests, bed and breakfast late availability, Blenheim Lodge, bowness-on-windermere, coniston, cumbria, Easter breaks, English Lake District, english lake district, flora and fauna, lake district breaks, lake district special offers, Lake District weather, lake district weekend breaks, lake district winter break, late availability, snow in lake district, Special Offers, Spring breaks, travel, windermere weekend breaks, Winter break in the Lake District and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.