There shall be showers of blessing

We all know the expression, ‘April showers’. However, growing up in Singapore, this phrase did not mean much to me. After all, whether there were showers or not, the Singaporean weather remained hot. Besides, April did not coincide with our monsoon seasons. However, now that I live in the UK, I have a better understanding of why the weatherman talks about April showers.

In defence of the weather in Bowness-on-Windermere this April, I have to say that the Lake District has had numerous excellent days of bright sunshine and NO rain – not even a smattering – throughout much of April 2013.

An amazing view of Lake Windermere from most of our rooms at Blenheim Lodge. Do come and visit with us for a quiet, relaxing break.

Note the brightness of the skies! An amazing view of Lake Windermere from most of our rooms at Blenheim Lodge. Do come and visit with us for a quiet, relaxing break.

This evening is the first that I have noticed consistently overcast skies and drippy showers for more than a couple of hours. We are not experiencing a proper downpour at all: only inconsistent drizzles interspersed with lots of sunshine on the one hand and a concerted effort to rain on the other. The weather cannot seem to make up its mind!

The well-known song, ‘There shall be Showers of Blessing’, was one I learnt in chapel as a child. Here are the first two verses and refrain:

  1. There shall be showers of blessing:
    This is the promise of love;
    There shall be seasons refreshing,
    Sent from the Savior above.

    • Refrain:
      Showers of blessing,
      Showers of blessing we need:
      Mercy-drops round us are falling,
      But for the showers we plead.
  2. There shall be showers of blessing,
    Precious reviving again;
    Over the hills and the valleys,
    Sound of abundance of rain.

I loved the monsoon seasons in Singapore, and especially the one at the end of the year. In fact, I still have a fondness for the year-end monsoon in my home country: the way the rains refresh the air, cooling it down so one can breathe more easily; the puddles in the roads where, as a child, I could play ‘miss the puddle’; the feeling of safety and cosiness at home when I was snug under my blanket as I listened to the constant drumming of heavy rainfall upon the asbestos roof outside my bedroom windows; the gentle touch of monsoon winds as they blew in through the circular vents that ranged along all the walls of our house . . . I could go on.

In the UK, nobody seems to like the rain. Everyone I speak to always says that he or she prefers hot weather, preferably sweltering temperatures. I suppose that the rains in the UK are often accompanied by a kind of damp coldness that is not very pleasant. Maybe that is why people in this country seem to hate the rains so much.

Well, what do you know? As I write this now, the skies have gradually brightened and blue and white streaks are decorating the heavens. Under this canopy of blue and white shades sit the majestic Lake Windermere and high green fells. What a gorgeous picture I have before me! Now think: without the rains, how could this landscape come to be? There shall be showers of blessing indeed!

blenheim lodge, lake district, bowness on windermere

This is the view from our lounge at Blenheim Lodge this evening. Not a fantastic photo as I could not capture the brightness of the colours, but I hope you get a gist of what I was trying to portray.

Blenheim Lodge . . . panoramic Lake views, peace and tranquillity, nestled against acres of beautiful fields and woodlands, in the heart of the English Lake District National Park.’

Visit our website: www.blenheim-lodge.com

Email: enquiries@blenheim-lodge.com

Telephone: 015394 43440

This entry was posted in bed and breakfast late availability, Blenheim Lodge, blessing, bowness-on-windermere, childhood, christianity, cumbria, English Lake District, english lake district, lake district breaks, lake district romantic breaks, lake district scenery, lake district special offers, Lake District weather, lake district weekend breaks, Lake Windermere Views, late availability, may public holiday long weekend, retreats, Singapore, single rooms for B&B, Special Offers, Spring breaks, travel, windermere weekend breaks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.