Visiting the optometrist

Old Four Eyes here hasn’t been to the optometrist in 2 years. Today, following a recall for a routine check up, I encountered something different there: flashing lights. The ophthalmologist explained that my peripheral vision hadn’t been checked for some time, so he felt that I should get it looked at.

My appointment had been for 4:35 pm. At 4:45 pm, I was ushered into the ophthalmologist’s room to check my vision. Aside from the usual readings of the last row of tiny letters on a chart, I had to indicate whether the concentric circles on the screen were rounder and clearer with one lens or another, and my eye pressure was also taken. The resulting effect at the end of this consultation was a feeling of tiredness in my eyes.

The eye tests revealed that the pressure in my left eye had dropped (good) but that the astigmatism in my right eye had increased (bad). My prescription had also changed slightly, but not so much that I needed a new pair of glasses (bad and good). Then, John, the ophthalmologist, said, ‘You haven’t had a peripheral vision test. I think you should have one before you leave.’

A few minutes later, Simon, the optometrist, called me to a small room where sat an electronic gizmo. I had to rest my chin on a chin rest and focus one eye alternately on the orange light whilst the other was being covered by a black patch. I only needed the right outfit to look like a veritable pirate! In my hand was a buzzer: I was to press the buzzer every time I saw a white light flashing in the 3D-like interior of this contraption, otherwise called an automatic perimetry machines My, was the experience tiring! Simon said that I was trying too hard, and that I should blink so that I would be able to distinguish the lights a little more easily. The prognosis? I need to be re-checked in a year’s time.

My optometrist is located in Windermere, so his clinic is only a 5-minute ride from Bowness-on-Windermere where we live at Blenheim Lodge Bed and Breakfast. People who visit Bowness and Windermere always seem to think that these two villages are holiday resorts, despite the fact that they function just like any other small town or busy village, with all the usual amenities and more that one would expect to find in places this size. I remember when one of our American guests staying with us a couple of years back came and asked for help because her cornea was falling off. I rang Simon who saw her immediately and then had her sent to the local hospital in Kendal to be seen to. Thank goodness for the excellent facilities we have here!

Bowness and Windermere are not just ‘pretty faces’ with easy access to lovely scenery and countryside; they are pretty good places to stay too because of all the local amenities, services, and attractions that we have. The first two are absolutely essential to locals and visitors alike: from doctors, dentists, accountants, optometrists, banks, building trades, builders merchants, etc. to shops, restaurants, ironmongers, transport infrastructure, supermarkets, gyms, spas and so on. Most things and services immediately needful are available on our doorsteps – for which the locals are particularly grateful!

Blenheim Lodge, a beautifully refurbished guesthouse in Windermere.

Where we live: Blenheim Lodge Guest House, nestling against woodlands and boasting panoramic Lake Windermere views, only a 5-minute walk to the village centre and pier.

Blenheim Lodge . . . panoramic Lake views, peace and tranquillity, nestled against acres of beautiful fields and woodlands, in the heart of the English Lake District National Park.’

Visit our website: www.blenheim-lodge.com

Email: enquiries@blenheim-lodge.com

Telephone: 015394 43440

 

This entry was posted in Behind the scenes in a B&B, Blenheim Lodge, bowness-on-windermere, cumbria, English Lake District, english lake district, lake district breaks, lake district holiday, lake district scenery, lake district summer break, lake district weekend breaks, Lake Windermere Views, late availability, Spring breaks, travel, windermere weekend breaks and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.