Fun and games

A funny thing happened to me on Saturday. I was minding my own business, quietly writing my blog, when I heard the doorbell ring. We had been expecting some newcomers, so it was not a surprise. Leaving my computer, I made a beeline for the front door.

However, I had to go through a connecting door to the front door of the house. With my mind focused on greeting our new guests, I was not expecting to see anyone behind the connecting door as I pushed it open. I had already stridden a couple of steps when, out of the corner of my eye, I saw a shadowy figure standing motionless behind the door. Uttering a bloodcurdling yell, I simultaneously jumped what felt like 2 feet into the air whilst frantically turning my head from side to side trying to understand why I should have someone standing motionless and stealthily behind our door.

blenheim lodge, bowness on windermere, lake district

Here is an interior shot of a hallway at Blenheim Lodge. The door beside the radiator was closed and I had to go through it. Behind it, standing quietly next to the radiator, was our guest. (Thankfully I did not flatten our visitor when I pushed open the door!)

As I landed, I recognised the person standing there as our newest Australian visitor. I asked her whether she had rung the bell, but she said ‘no’, although she explained that she had been just about to ring our door bell (which has a different ring from the front door bell), when the front door bell had chimed first. Asking her to hold on a minute, I hurried to the front door to find two people standing outside, luggage in hand and awaiting entry.

I settled our new guests to filling in our registration form before turning back to speak to our Australian visitor. She was in hysterics . . . and, indeed, so was I. I could hardly stop laughing at my silliness whilst trying to appear professional and in control as I invited our  newly registered guests to settle in with hot drinks and biscuits in our guest lounge. Upstairs, the lady’s mother thought that we were having some great fun and games when she heard loud giggles and voluble speech.

Enjoy a seat by the window with a tea tray.

Enjoy a warm welcome when you arrive! What our Bed and Breakfast encapsulates: take time for yourself, and enjoy views of Lake Windermere through our huge triple floor to ceiling bay windows in our lounge whilst having a welcome sup of tea and biscuits.

If I were a cat, I would certainly have lost at least one life then. Perhaps more. Anyhow, all concerned, even the new arrivals, enjoyed a good laugh at my uncalled for acrobatic stunt. I suppose it is just as well that my heart is healthy, and that little fright did not bring on anything more serious than a good going high jump! It’s all in the day’s work as a Bed and Breakfast landlady!

blenheim lodge, bowness-on-windermere, lake district

This is the room our Australian guests were staying in. The Fairfield, our largest room with lovely views to the north of Lake Windermere, was set up as a room for twin occupancy for them.

Blenheim Lodge . . . panoramic Lake views, peace and tranquillity, nestled against acres of beautiful fields and woodlands, in the heart of the English Lake District National Park.’

Visit our website: www.blenheim-lodge.com

Email: enquiries@blenheim-lodge.com

Telephone: 015394 43440

 

This entry was posted in B&B guests, bed and breakfast late availability, Behind the scenes in a B&B, Blenheim Lodge, bowness-on-windermere, cumbria, English Lake District, english lake district, International Visitors, lake district breaks, lake district holiday, lake district special offers, lake district summer break, lake district weekend breaks, late availability, may public holiday long weekend, Special Offers, Spring breaks, travel, windermere weekend breaks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.