News

As part of our website housekeeping, I have been advised to set up a new blog. This blog will appear on our business website, www.blenheim-lodge.com, and will contain different material from what I write on this blog. My new blog will probably be more focused on our Bed and Breakfast in Bowness-on-Windermere and the Lake District in general. My intention is to alternate postings between the two blogging sites. Let’s just see how I get on!

grasmere lake district

The incredible Lake District: two canoeists row in the still deep silence of a glassy Grasmere Lake which reflects the beauty of its surroundings. (Photo courtesy of http://www.cumbriaphoto.co.uk.)

Meanwhile, Hubby and I have also been enjoying playing hosts to some rather lovely guests over the last few weeks. One of them, who will have stayed with us for 10 nights by the time he leaves tomorrow, has been great to get to know a little. We will miss him when we say farewell in the morning.

On a totally different subject, my work mobile phone seems to be receiving odd calls from an undisclosed number every so often. They are always missed calls and a man’s voice always speaks the same words either in Spanish or Portuguese (I cannot quite tell). The message always goes on and on, so now I regularly press the red button to turn it off almost as soon as I hear the man’s voice. These messages have nothing to do with our B&B at all as far as I know, and I think they must be sent from some automated dialler based in a foreign country.

Meanwhile, on the home front, Hubby is building a small patio in the back of our house. This used to be a rockery of sorts, but the ground was not very fertile so the bushes that grew tended to be wiry and rather sere looking most of the time. Over the last few days, Hubby had been wondering what to do with this little patch of land. After much deliberation, he asked whether I would like a whirly gig for drying the laundry. ‘No,’ was my answer. I think that this little patio will now be built so that one can sit out to enjoy the fresh air and enjoy a cuppa whilst doing so.

Oh, I almost forgot. I recently had a short article written up by Michael Franco in relation to cooking breakfast foods. It is a small thing, but it might amuse a reader or two if you are interested in how I make scrambled eggs. Here is the url for it: http://bandb.about.com/od/eggrecipes/a/Back-To-Basics.htm

Well, that is all for now. I need to get some mundane stuff done in the house, and then I want to curl up with a good book and read for a while. The last few days have been punctuated with Maddi and Zack making middle of the night excursions around our hallway and waking me up at least two or three times nightly. Tonight, I intend to read my book and have an early night, in the hope of making up some hours in case our dogs decide to go walkabout around the hall once again!

pyrenean mountain dog

Zack and Maddi.

Blenheim Lodge . . . panoramic Lake views, peace and tranquillity, nestled against acres of beautiful fields and woodlands, in the heart of the English Lake District National Park.’

Visit our website: www.blenheim-lodge.com

Email: enquiries@blenheim-lodge.com

Telephone: 015394 43440

 

This entry was posted in B&B guests, bed and breakfast late availability, Behind the scenes in a B&B, Blenheim Lodge, bowness-on-windermere, breakfast, cumbria, English Lake District, english lake district, International Visitors, lake district breaks, lake district holiday, lake district special offers, lake district summer break, lake district weekend breaks, late availability, may public holiday long weekend, retreats, single rooms for B&B, Special Offers, Spring breaks, travel, windermere weekend breaks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.