I could tear my hair out!

Following on from my previous two posts . . .

Promises, promises, promises! Having heard back with what seemed positive replies to polite entreaties to those huge companies regarding the use of our name and location for advertising their commissionable hotel rooms, I was in hopes that we would have seen the end of this problem by Saturday just past. But, nada!

Today is Monday, and I am still battling the big boys. Moreover, I have found more huge players that are using our details on their sites and telling people that we have NO availability when we blatantly DO! I have now written to all these websites with no success. What should I do?

Someone suggested that I should contact a newspaper and see whether we can get help that way. Well, I have done that today. I am now waiting to hear whether the newspaper can help us. When I think of what is going on, I could cry with frustration!

And let’s face it, there is fear too. Fear that this will be a dismal year for us, what with the pressures of the economy, this new threat, increasing costs and higher living expenses. Fear that we will not have enough to support our two sons through higher education because of a bad summer’s trading. Fear that we might never get rid of these parasites riding on our coat tails as they divert our potential bookings to the hotels they support.

Ultimately, the result of all this bullying might mean that we will have to succumb to these big guns. We do not want to join them; but everyone knows the adage: if you can’t fight them, join them. For 10 years, we have kept to ourselves because we do not like the unscrupulous ways in which these companies work. Do we really want to be a part of them and in so doing, be giving a tacit nod to their scurrilous ways?

I do not know whether anyone out there has had any experience of this threat, but it would be good to hear how you dealt with it if that were the case. Meanwhile, I am to complain to Google as well because the search pages that come up when someone searches for our guest house continue to use our copyright images and write-ups and continue to state that we have no availability!

This difficult episode is probably one of the most trying ones that we have come across in our tenure at Blenheim Lodge. I wish I could bury my head in the sand like an ostrich and hide away from all this trouble. But what can I do except to keep knocking on doors in order to resolve this problem? I CAN PRAY!

Meanwhile, for anyone looking to spend some days in England’s Lake District in a peaceful B&B retreat with wonderful views, please do get in touch with us. We do have availability and you can see this availability through our own website booking tool or contact us by email or phone for details and to book. We have single, double, twin and triple occupancy rooms, all of which you can check out on our web page, www.blenheim-lodge.com/rooms.php.

A scenic idyll, with gently floating water lily pads surrounded by quiet countryside with towering mountains in the background.

A scenic idyll, with gently floating water lily pads surrounded by quiet countryside with towering mountains in the background.

Blenheim Lodge . . . panoramic Lake views, peace and tranquillity, nestled against acres of beautiful fields and woodlands, in the heart of the English Lake District National Park.’

Visit our website: www.blenheim-lodge.com

Email: enquiries@blenheim-lodge.com

Telephone: 015394 43440

This entry was posted in bed and breakfast late availability, Behind the scenes in a B&B, Blenheim Lodge, bowness-on-windermere, computer, English Lake District, english lake district, lake district breaks, lake district holiday, lake district special offers, lake district summer break, lake district weekend breaks, late availability, Online Booking, photography, retreats, Romantic Breaks, single rooms for B&B, travel, windermere weekend breaks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I could tear my hair out!

  1. Nafees says:

    so lovely and awesome.

  2. BeWithUs says:

    Gosh…sorry to hear about that…I do hope you don’t worry yourself too much…as a consumer, if I am truly interested in knowing a place or finding information about the place that I want, I would normally go directly to their main website to find out more…

    However, I just try clicking this Agoda website from the ad and they actually have rooms available at some offered rates…have you registered with them? If people were to book thru them, would they be able to really get your rooms? Hmm….

  3. Clowie says:

    I’m sorry that you’re having problems. It’s difficult for small business to fight the big boys when they are behaving badly.

  4. blodge1 says:

    Thank you so much for your concern. I have managed to get two of them to stop but there are more to deal with.

  5. blodge1 says:

    It is hard indeed and I am writing this while laid up in bed unwell. Hubby has been good as gold dealing with the guest house. We are on agoda and laterooms and asiarooms, as well as golakes so they have our rates and bookability. It is those others that put us up without our permission that are causing problems. Thank you so much for thinking so kindly of us. Much appreciated.

  6. BeWithUs says:

    I think with your husband cooking for 12 just recently, there shouldn’t be a problem with your business..

    So, really…try not to worry too much and be well soon, okay?

    Take care! Cheers~ 😀

  7. blodge1 says:

    Ah! We can take up to 21 people. Got to do well now in order to squirrel away to pay bills for now and the winter months.
    Thank you so much for your encouragement.

Leave a Reply

