All in a day’s work

As I sit here typing this post, my mind seems to be whirling around, thinking of all the various balls I am currently juggling in the air, so to speak. It may be quiet and peaceful around me, sitting as I am in our lounge, where one can hear a pin drop! Outside, the views of Lake Windermere and the fells, domestic residences and the flora that grace and soften their outlines provide me a picturesque eyeful. Nonetheless, my mind will not be quiet.

An evening view from our lounge at Blenheim Lodge one early Summer's day.

An evening view from my vantage point in the lounge at Blenheim Lodge.

I have just handed over the linen and towels rented from the previous laundry to the driver. In the interest of ensuring that both the laundry and we agree that the correct numbers of linen and towels have been returned, I am still awaiting their stock count. Meanwhile, I am looking forward – yes, forward – to a phone call from the laundry’s book-keeper this evening. Hopefully we will be able to sort out the stock count as well as any outstanding credits and debits on both sides.

Other matters encroach on my mind. We are going to make some changes to our water heating system in order to make it more efficient. This will of course cost a goodly sum. In order to do this, we will probably shut shop for a few days in mid-autumn. Meantime, we are also upgrading a couple of radiators in one of our bedrooms by taking out the larger but older ones and replacing them with smaller but more energy efficient ones.

As I think about our year to date, the spectre of our name and location being hijacked and used against us for booking purposes still looms large. It has not been resolved although elements of it have been tackled. For example, we managed to get Google to remove some page links which had infringed our copyright. Nevertheless, as one can only guess, if it was easy to put those pages up in the first place, it will be simple enough for the perpetrators to re-jig them slightly and upload them again! Besides, I probably only found a handful of those pages amongst the larger number that must be out there. Moreover, I had not managed to get the Adwords ones deleted! There is more to do here, but first I must find the energy to get on with it!

So, here are just some of the elements of work behind the scenes in a Bed and Breakfast. I will be glad when the laundry issue is sorted out and I can turn my attention to something else – like putting my feet up and reading an absorbing novel! But first, I have to deal with the VAT returns and final year accounts – my absolute favourite thing to do. Er . . . not!

Blenheim Lodge . . . panoramic Lake views, peace and tranquillity, nestled against acres of beautiful fields and woodlands, in the heart of the English Lake District National Park.’

Visit our website: www.blenheim-lodge.com

Email: enquiries@blenheim-lodge.com

Telephone: 015394 43440

 

This entry was posted in Behind the scenes in a B&B, Blenheim Lodge, bowness-on-windermere, English Lake District, english lake district, travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to All in a day’s work

  1. BeWithUs says:

    Haha…all those number crunching thingy…all the best to you then!

    Btw, happy October, my friend! May this month be a prosperous and wonderful one for you and your love ones!!

    Take care and be well, always~ Cheers!! 😀

  2. blodge1 says:

    Thanks. Hate numbers with a passion – have never been good at maths, so all that number crunching is hard work!

  3. BeWithUs says:

    You’re welcome, my friend!

    At least, these number crunching for your business would be a sweet one…more numbers to crunch = more business…hehe

    Have a wonderful weekend ahead, always~ Cheers!! 😀

Leave a Reply

