The one-foot affair

Blenheim Lodge is situated in the heart of the Lake District National Park. We are located about 20 minutes from the M6 motorway, which means that most people coming into the Junction 36 corridor with the M6 are more likely to stay at a trunk road inn rather than to drive the extra few miles or so to overnight in the Lake District itself. Today, however, we received a phone call from a sales executive who asked for B&B accommodation tonight.

claife heights, blenheim lodge, bowness on windermere, lake district

Our guest booked this room for single occupancy. Claife Heights, one of our standard double rooms at Blenheim Lodge, is named after the Claife Heights mountains visible from this bedroom.

When our guest arrived at 5 pm, I went out to the car park to welcome him. He had his boot open and, behold, there were lots of footwear in it. Curious as I was, I asked whether he was here to sell to the local shops. It turned out that he is a sales account manager for Barbour, one of my favourite brands. Barbour is hardwearing and offers great protection from all weathers. And mention of the brand brought back some fond memories.

Twenty-two years ago, when Hubby and I enjoyed our first Christmas together as man and wife, Hubby had presented me with a furry vest that buttons into and lines a Barbour jacket. (Our new guest’s appearance today has put me in mind of this jacket and I am going to see whether I can hunt it out, that is, if I still have it!)  I still have the vest but am not sure whether I have the jacket. At that time, we were poor as church mice: we had a very part-time job between us and I was still studying at postgraduate school. The vest Hubby bought would have cost a pretty penny then and still looks as good as new.

Having met our new guest, I asked excitedly whether I could look through his pile of footwear. Of course, he said – but there was only one side of each pair, so I could not try them on. Coincidentally, we had gone to Keswick in the early afternoon today so that I could look for a pair of shoes. (I seem at present and indeed over the past year to have lived in my sheepskin boots even during the summer, so I desperately need a new pair of shoes which do not pinch my feet.) Alas, the cornucopia of one-foot shoes and boots was sadly not going to help my cause.

This one-foot affair has, however, brought back some heart-warming memories and I am determined to check through my store of jackets to see whether I can find my old Barbour one. Our guest has kindly said that he will advise me on how to renew the jacket if need be, so I am going to do a little searching out tonight. Isn’t it odd how small unexpected events can trigger long bedded memories?

Blenheim Lodge . . . panoramic Lake views, peace and tranquillity, nestled against acres of beautiful fields and woodlands, in the heart of the English Lake District National Park.’

Visit our website: www.blenheim-lodge.com

Email: enquiries@blenheim-lodge.com

Telephone: 015394 43440

This entry was posted in B&B guests, bed and breakfast late availability, Behind the scenes in a B&B, Blenheim Lodge, bowness-on-windermere, cumbria, English Lake District, english lake district, travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The one-foot affair

  1. BeWithUs says:

    Have a wonderful weekend ahead, my friend! Cheers~ 😀

  2. blodge1 says:

    Thanks, you too.

Leave a Reply

