40 winks

Today, Monday, 13th October 2013, has been a relatively relaxing day for me. So relaxing in fact that I have dozed off in my comfy armchair a couple of times. We had been away to visit our folks at the weekend as we hadn’t seen them in a while and I always find travel tiring. Thus, being able to shut shop today has been rather of a boon.

In fact, although our telephone line, online booking facilities and email answering services are open as usual – and answered as usual – we are not offering accommodation today, tomorrow and the day after because we are renewing our hot water system and also an aspect of our central heating system. We are open for bed and breakfast again on Thursday, 17th October 2013. Thus, all I have done today has been to try and keep awake for the contractors while they have been working in the house. Inevitably, however, what with travel over the weekend and recent late nights, I have been dozing off in my chair instead!

The quietness that we experience at our home, which is also our Bed and Breakfast Guest House, is very conducive indeed to encouraging 40 winks. In fact, it is so quiet, one can hear the proverbial pin drop! I like watching some of the old sitcoms, but my ennui was such that even with the telly on, I found myself nodding off.

Outside, the rhythms of the weather have chimed with my inactive ways today. I awoke at 7:30 am to a greyish sky. Over the course of the day, it brightened up but as I write now in the early evening, I can see dark clouds hovering over Lake Windermere. As for the fells, the furthest ones cannot be seen for the white mist hiding them. The elements themselves, however, are missing: no wind; no rain; just a very still atmosphere.

Here is a photo of what it looks like right now outside our lounge window at Blenheim Lodge. You can see Lake Windermere and the closer fells in the back ground.

Here is a photo of what it looks like right now outside our lounge window at Blenheim Lodge. You can see Lake Windermere and the closer fells in the background. (I am afraid the picture is a little squint!)

To tell the truth, I find myself liking weather like this because I enjoy the stillness of it all. There is no wind to whip up biting chills, and no rain to wet one to the bone. Since it is evening, there is no sunshine anyway, so it is not as if there is any sunshine to miss!

I wonder what the weather will be like over the coming weekend. We re-open for business on Thursday, 17th October 2013, and hope that good weather and a desire for a Lake District break will bring holiday makers to us at Blenheim Lodge. About five days ago, I put up some new special offers for Autumn, which I hope will attract some uptake. Prices for an en-suite room with Lake Windermere and fell views start from only £43.50 per person per night including breakfast, which are lower than our regular Winter rates. So, if anyone reading this is still looking for a relaxing getaway this weekend, why not consider a break at our Lake District guest house? We would love to welcome you!

Blenheim Lodge . . . panoramic Lake views, peace and tranquillity, nestled against acres of beautiful fields and woodlands, in the heart of the English Lake District National Park.’

Visit our website: www.blenheim-lodge.com

Email: enquiries@blenheim-lodge.com

Telephone: 015394 43440

This entry was posted in autumn break special offer, bed and breakfast late availability, Behind the scenes in a B&B, Blenheim Lodge, bowness-on-windermere, cumbria, English Lake District, english lake district, lake district breaks, lake district holiday, lake district scenery, lake district special offers, Lake District weather, lake district weekend breaks, late availability, retreats, Special Offers, travel, windermere weekend breaks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

