Some favourite TV shows

The Antiques Road Trip began this week, and I think it must be one of my favourite TV shows. Today, Friday, was the end of the first leg on the show, with two antiques experts, Charles Hanson and Christina Trevanion going head to head. I felt rather nostalgic when the two contestants said goodbye to each other at the end of Episode 5 for a variety of reasons, not least because the cheerful and cheeky (not rude) behaviour of the two experts made the shows such good fun to watch. Tim Wonnacott, as the programme’s commentator, is excellent as usual and very listenable. But what I like best about this series is the fact that the programme depicts general goodwill and simple good fun, unmarred by swearing or uncouth behaviour. Of course I also find the episodes interesting because I like antiques and learning more about them. (www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b00xgqvf)

Two other television shows I like involve cooking. One is MasterChef. However, I only like two of the MasterChef series: MasterChef: The Professionals and MasterChef (for amateurs). The other is the Great British Bake Off. I enjoy watching – with much admiration – the cookery masterpieces and confections that these talented chefs and bakers achieve. Would that I were half as imaginative in creating such superb dishes and wonderful bakes!

Oh yes, I almost forgot! I enjoy some of the replays of old sitcoms, such as Dad’s Army. The programme has taken a serious subject i.e. war, but has managed to make its audience laugh despite the true horrors of war. Its gentle comedy encapsulates the resilience of the human spirit, where one marches on despite the ravages of the Second World War, making the best of the worst as portrayed by its larger than life characters. I love the superb acting, and in Episode 1, ‘The Armoured Might of Lance Corporal Jones,’ I simply could not stop laughing when watching Jones and Walker icing up in the butcher shop’s freezer.

Like most everyone, I also enjoy a good film on TV. Mostly, I like watching comedies although I also enjoy some thrillers and fantasy movies. Perhaps two of the most enjoyable series of films for me say something about my character: these are the ‘Ice Age’ and ‘How to Train a Dragon’ animations. I think I just like watching feel good shows because they provide a means of escapism from the real world.

The types of films that I do not like to watch involve lots of gore, violence, uncouth behaviour and swearing. In the olden days, one could watch shows without all this rudeness, and still enjoy them; thus I cannot see why sitcoms, films and reality TV have to encompass so much unnecessary rudeness nowadays.

So, what kind of shows do you like watching? Do share.

Blenheim Lodge Bed and Breakfast, Bowness-on-Widnermere, on a cold but clear day.

Our home, Blenheim Lodge Bed and Breakfast, Bowness-on-Windermere, on a cold but clear day.

Blenheim Lodge . . . panoramic Lake views, peace and tranquillity, nestled against acres of beautiful fields and woodlands, in the heart of the English Lake District National Park.’

Visit our website: www.blenheim-lodge.com

Email: enquiries@blenheim-lodge.com

Telephone: 015394 43440

 

This entry was posted in antique furniture, Behind the scenes in a B&B, Blenheim Lodge, bowness-on-windermere, English Lake District and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Some favourite TV shows

  1. BeWithUs says:

    I love Masterchef too and now currently following the Australia and USA one..hehe…

    Have a lovely weekend ahead, my friend!! Cheers~ 😀

  2. blodge1 says:

    Hi
    Just edited my post to say I also enjoy Dad’s Army. Do you watch it?

  3. BeWithUs says:

    Haven’t come across this show..don’t think it has been aired in our local TV station…anyway, thank you for sharing!!

    Happy Monday ~ Cheers!! 😀

  4. blodge1 says:

    If you get the chance, try to watch it. It is funny and very well acted. It’s an old show, but we can get repeats here sometimes. Here is a link to one of them on BBC iplayer, http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b007bl55/Dads_Army_Series_3_Big_Guns/
    but it will only be available to view for a limited time. I saw it on Saturday. However, the one I like best is the one with Jones and Walker in the freezer!

  5. BeWithUs says:

    Thank you so much for the link, my friend! Unfortunately, it is only meant for UK viewers…no worries, I will take note of this title and will try other source to access to it.

    Thank you so much for sharing, have a great day ahead, always~ Cheers!! 😀

  6. blodge1 says:

    Oh, I didn’t know that only UK viewers could see it. What a shame. Anyway, Dad’s Army is a classic sitcom so I am sure you will find it somewhere.
    Take care.

  7. BeWithUs says:

    No worries, my friend!

    Thank you for the recommendation…Cheers!! 😀

Leave a Reply

