A good day

19th October was a successful day for me in terms of completing a number of tasks I had lined up for the day. Only one thing failed me, and I will get to that in a minute. In Bowness-on-Windermere, this Autumn day dawned bright and fair, with no wind to chill flesh and bone. It was just such a lovely day!

Here is a view of the fells rising beyond Lake Windermere as seen from Blenheim Lodge Guest House, Bowness on Windermere.

Here is a view of the fells rising beyond Lake Windermere as seen from Blenheim Lodge Guest House, Bowness on Windermere.

I had arranged for a carpet cleaner to do a deep clean of the carpets in our house. Gary was expected at 9 am, so the night before, I cleared as much of the dining room for him before his arrival the next morning. I would clear the rest of the rooms and public areas on Tuesday morning before his arrival. Let me tell you that waking up at 7:30 am in order to engage in furniture removal is not to be recommended!

Gary arrived 10 minutes early and began taking all his equipment into the house. I had just finished clearing the rooms and all I had left to do was to show him the areas I wanted cleaned. Having done that, Hubby and I sat twiddling our thumbs as there wasn’t much else we could do except to wait for Gary to complete his job.

Bing! I had a bright idea. I would go into town i.e. Kendal, and do some of the things I had been wanting to do for some while but which I had had no time to accomplish earlier.

Kendal, on the outskirts of the Lake District National Park, by Ben Barden.

Kendal, on the outskirts of the Lake District National Park, by Ben Barden.

One of those things that I wanted to do was to get my hair cut. I had been going to a hairdressing salon in Kendal for the last 10 years, so I rang to make an appointment. My usual hairdresser was available for a 12:30 pm appointment. How nice! I was looking forward to finally getting my unruly hair cut.

It was 10:30 am when I set off. I thought I would go early to shop for some items I wanted, as well as visiting the library. Then, I wanted to visit an optician’s to thank a lady there who had spent much time showing me some lovely spectacle frames, but which I had now decided not to purchase. I was anticipating a good day out. Hubby would house sit whilst Gary worked on the carpets in 13 rooms located over 3 floors.

Enjoy a seat by the window with a tea tray.

I left Hubby enjoying the views of Lake Windermere through our huge triple floor to ceiling bay windows in our lounge, and he was still sitting there when I returned a few hours later!

Lovely sunshine followed me from Bowness to Kendal and I had a fabulous 1.5 hours mooching about before heading to the hairdresser’s for my appointment. Disappointingly, the hairdresser was running late – so late in fact that I cancelled my appointment. When I arrived for my appointment at 12:30 pm, the hairdresser was still cutting a client’s hair. I asked the receptionist whether there was time for me to go and visit a nearby store before he finished, and I was told that I had 10 minutes. Well, I returned to the salon 5 minutes late but the hairdresser was still cutting the client’s hair. By then, I only had 45 minutes left on my parking ticket.

A further wait of 10 minutes saw the hairdresser finish the job and then stand chatting with the client and in no apparent hurry. I now only had 35 minutes left on my parking ticket and could not risk getting a parking fine if the hairdresser was not finished with cutting my hair in time. Nor did I want a rushed job on my hair as his services do not come cheap at £47 a cut. Besides, I was still standing at reception with my jacket on, and by the time my hair was prepped, I would have less than 30 minutes for the actual haircut, not to mention the time I would need to walk back to my vehicle.

The receptionist gave me the option of cancelling my appointment, which I did, and walked to nearby Marks and Spencer’s instead. Recently, I rediscovered a weakness for coffee and walnut cake – so, guess what I bought? I also bought some chocolates for Hubby and other less frivolous goods for dinner. Isn’t it nice not to feel hurried when walking up and down shop aisles?

I returned to my vehicle in good time and made my way back to Bowness. This time I drove home via narrow windy country roads because I wanted to avoid the queue of traffic I had encountered driving through Bowness and Windermere towns where I had encountered roadworks on my way out. It was lovely trundling through the countryside and looking out on some wonderful vistas.

Gary was still hard at work when I returned at just shy of 2 o’clock. He was to stay on site for another hour or two before leaving us with nice clean carpets underfoot. The cost? £360 for all his hard work. I was well pleased that between Gary and me, we had achieved a good day’s work (and shopping)!

dining room, blenheim lodge, lake district

The first room where Gary tackled our carpets. Here is a photo of our dining room at Blenheim Loge with the Laura Ashley wallpaper you can see in tones of duck egg blue. 

Blenheim Lodge . . . panoramic Lake views, peace and tranquillity, nestled against acres of beautiful fields and woodlands, in the heart of the English Lake District National Park.’

Visit our website: www.blenheim-lodge.com

Email: enquiries@blenheim-lodge.com

Telephone: 015394 43440

 

This entry was posted in Behind the scenes in a B&B, Blenheim Lodge, bowness-on-windermere, cumbria, English Lake District, english lake district, hair cut, kendal, lake district scenery, Lake District weather, Lake Windermere Views, travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

