Winds at 3 a.m.

3 o’clock in the morning and I awoke to the sounds of an agitated dog pacing the hallway outside our bedroom. The wind was howling outside and rattling window panes. Hubby did not get any choice from me: ‘Zack needs to go out,’ I said. ‘He needs to poo.’

Hubby’s reply? ‘So what?’ He was snuggled deep into the duvet and was now being rudely awakened from a deep sleep not just by a dog but also by a wife who wanted him to take the dog out into the cold, possibly wet, and windy outdoors.

I waited a few moments and then decided to get up to see to Zack myself. As soon as I moved, so did Hubby. He prefers to walk the dogs rather than leaving them to me because I am small in stature and the dogs are large. Well, Hubby was up; so far, so good.

Hubby opened the bedroom door to reveal a shaft of light illuminating the hallway. This warranted personal examination from me as I had switched off the light before going to bed. Why as it on? As I headed out of the bedroom and into the hall, Hubby commented that we were experiencing a power cut. No surprise, considering the gale-like wind shrieking like a banshee just outside our room.

Then, I heard the sound of a thin high-pitched whining. Obviously, the power cut must have broken the circuit for our inbuilt electronically wired fire alarm system, and it was beeping so rapidly that it sounded like one continuous pitch. Zack was distraught. It probably hurt his eardrums although Maddi could hear nothing as she is deaf. Poor Zack was desperate for company, pawing for contact and shaking his head at the same time. Eventually, we took him into our bedroom and shut the door, telling him to lie down and to go ‘night night’. Some 30 minutes later, all was quiet.

Zack at Buttermere, Lake District. Big boy perhaps - but also a big baby!

Zack at Buttermere, Lake District. Big boy perhaps – but also our big baby!

This morning at 8 a.m. and the wind had not abated. Outside, the sky was a uniform iron grey, which was not exactly conducive to encouraging one to leave one’s bed. We are having a quiet week this week, so I took the opportunity to enjoy a lie-in. First, I read the Lord’s Word; then, I continued reading a novel. Finally, at 11 a.m., I could see clear blue skies from my window. Time to get up!

Although we are enjoying a quiet week, it does not mean that we do not have work to do. Over the past few days, I have been slaving over our VAT returns, which always cause me much stress. Meanwhile, Hubby has embarked on a project to create more parking spaces in front of our house. So guess what I had to do when I got up? You’ve got it! Our VAT returns.

By now, the winds of the early hours of the morning had died down. Outside, the sun shone brightly over Lake Windermere and the fells, with Old Bowness in the foreground. With Blenheim Lodge situated just 5 minutes walk from Lake Windermere, I could, however, see some feisty ripples rolling through the waters from our lounge windows. And when Hubby had taken the dogs to the Lake for a walk around 8:15 this morning, he had seen a yacht bobbing aimlessly in the middle of the Lake which had drifted from its moorings.

blenheim lodge lake district lake view

When the wind is more amenable, the yachting set can experience some great sailing on Lake Windermere. Here is a photo of Lake Windermere with yachts bobbing in the distance, taken from our home, Blenheim Lodge.

Our Cumbrian papers and websites have also reported on these gales (www.in-cumbria.com/gale-force-winds-wreak-havoc-across-cumbria-1.1102990). However, I don’t think the power outage affected all of Lakeland, or indeed of Cumbria. Unfortunately, Bowness-on-Windermere was one of the villages to suffer a power cut. Nonetheless, one must be thankful because electricity was restored to us before I had even arisen, or else I would not have been able to read for the leaden skies outside our windows! One thing also I must add: our hilltop location means that we do not suffer the floods that plague some of the streets and buildings at the bottom of our hill. So, whilst other residences and buildings may swim in some good few inches or more of water, we never do. And it is truly a blessing Hubby and I appreciate!

Blenheim Lodge . . . panoramic Lake views, peace and tranquillity, nestled against acres of beautiful fields and woodlands, in the heart of the English Lake District National Park.’

Visit our website: www.blenheim-lodge.com

Email: enquiries@blenheim-lodge.com

Telephone: 015394 43440

This entry was posted in Behind the scenes in a B&B, Blenheim Lodge, bowness-on-windermere, English Lake District, Lake District weather, Lake Windermere Views and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Winds at 3 a.m.

  1. BeWithUs says:

    You’ve a sweet hubby, my friend!

    Have a wonderful weekend ahead, always~ Cheers!! 😀

  2. blodge1 says:

    Thanks. You too.

  3. BeWithUs says:

    You’re welcome! Cheers~ 😀

Leave a Reply

