Zack: ‘It’s mind over Mummy!’

Do dog owners ever feel like sometimes they are the ones being trained by their pets? I particularly felt just like that today. So, let’s speak about Zack, our soft-eyed Pyrenean Mountain Dog: huge; cuddly; and possibly cleverer than he looks!

It all began today after I spent a good deal of time – probably 3.5 hours – on the telephone with a couple of advisors from Apple who were trying to help me resolve a problem I am currently experiencing on Safari and also the mystery of the disappearing Apple Mac toolbar. This wasn’t the first time I had experienced these problems, the former of which occurred only because I had uploaded Apple’s latest Safari update. Anyway, it meant that by the time I got to see the dog, he was longing for company.

To cut a long story short, our son then came upstairs to have some dinner. Immediately, Zack sat down and looked longingly at the pizza I had baked. (Zack has figured out that if he sits and looks long and hard at the item he wants and alternates that with sad gazes into our eyes, then he will more than likely get his own way.) True enough, our boy could not resist and the dog got a slice of pizza which he duly demolished as fast as one can say ‘lickety split’!) By dint of not looking at the dog, our son managed to keep three slices of pizza for himself, with a spare one left over.

Zack continued sitting nicely by the pizza even though both our son and I had walked away. Our dog had suddenly become deaf as calling him had no effect. Instead, he continued his vigil by the pizza until I decided he might as well have the last slice. To eke it out, I cut it in two hoping that he would be satisfied with that one half. Nope! This was no daft dog. Zack continued sitting by the pizza like a statue and then looked longingly at me until I had given him the other half. Now, he was prepared to move.

So have I been trained by my dog? A little, perhaps. Certainly he knows how to use those eyes, paws, and indeed that whole body of his to express himself with great effect! Still, he’s a good dog and very kind and biddable.

‘Shhhh! Let me concentrate. I’m busy training Mummy!’

An adoring Zack!

An adoring Zack!

Blenheim Lodge . . . panoramic Lake views, peace and tranquillity, nestled against acres of beautiful fields and woodlands, in the heart of the English Lake District National Park.’

Visit our website: www.blenheim-lodge.com

Email: enquiries@blenheim-lodge.com

Telephone: 015394 43440

This entry was posted in autumn break special offer, B&B guests, Behind the scenes in a B&B, Blenheim Lodge, bowness-on-windermere, cumbria, dogs, English Lake District, english lake district, family, lake district breaks, pets, travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Zack: ‘It’s mind over Mummy!’

  1. BeWithUs says:

    Yes, my friend! They always gotten what they want with that SAME OLD TRICK inside their naughty bags…LOL…

    Cheers!! 😀

  2. blodge1 says:

    Don’t know why we humans never learn not to respond to their tricks! Thanks for reading.

  3. BeWithUs says:

    My Bro and Baby Sis are still able to resist those puppy eyes stare but not Lovable Mom and myself…LOL…

    You’re welcome, my friend! Cheers~ 😀

Leave a Reply

