Of decorating, refurbishing, and shopping!

I woke today feeling rather upbeat! The painting in our hallways is all but complete and we have had four new cushion floors installed in four shower rooms. More antique pieces of furniture are being restored and I have been speaking to someone who is absolutely brimming with ideas about how to dress our Bed and Breakfast. Thus, as Spring breezes in, our hope is that we will have fully completed some if not all our rooms within the month.

Pretty irises in Holehird Gardens, home of the Lakeland Horticultural Trust, just 5 minutes' drive from Blenheim Lodge.

Pretty irises in Holehird Gardens, home of the Lakeland Horticultural Trust, just 5 minutes’ drive from Blenheim Lodge. Photo by lakelandcam.co.uk.

Of course, financial constraints do make for a rather more relaxed approach to refurbishing and redecorating our guest house. We have to make ends meet after all in order to keep going with the upgrades. Nonetheless, I have a potential date to go shopping next week with my personal happy-to-be-appointed ‘interior decorator’. Yay!

What shall I buy? Well, we are going to be disciplined about this. We have decided to work room by room so that we do not lose our way. At least, that is the plan. Will we stick to it? Only time will tell. Val, who is helping me, thinks that I need splashes of colour in the bedrooms and bathrooms. That will be the principle by which we will abide. Thus, we will go for things like small colourful containers to hold our toiletries, cushions and throws that will not be neutral but which will bring vibrant colour into our rooms, etc. I think I have been too match-matchy where fabrics have been concerned and now I must get my brain out of that mindset and think ‘contemporary’.

I am looking forward to that shopping trip. I am not looking forward however to selling one of our beds. In fact, I am unsure of how to go about selling it, but I have been told that I should replace it with a different style of bed that does not impede our guests from seeing the fantastic views to be had of lake and fell from the window. As I write, my mind is whirring around, trying to think of where best to put it up for sale.

See the view beyond the bed? I have been told that I must think about this when looking at the bed!

See the view beyond the bed? I have been told that I must think about this when looking at the bed!’Sell it!’ they said.

So, as March marches on, we too are marching on with our redecoration and refurbishment programme. We do understand that it is not possible to complete everything immediately, but once we feel that we have made some substantial progress, we will see about hiring the services of a professional photographer to shoot some photos for us. (Are there any professional photographers out there who want to quote for the job or who want to exchange a few days’ Bed and Breakfast at our place in return for your skills? All interested enquiries will be welcomed.)

I feel enthusiastic about our project as I write this. I cannot wait to see everything materialise to form a successful whole. I pray that God will bless our endeavours and that we will have great fun sharing our home, Blenheim Lodge, with many new and re-visiting guests.

Escape to beautiful scenery and tranquil waters this Easter time. This is a photo of Lake Windermere in Springtime. The Lake is just 5-7 minutes' walk from our door.

Escape to beautiful scenery and tranquil waters this Easter time. This is a photo of Lake Windermere in Springtime. The Lake is just 5-7 minutes’ walk from our door.

Blenheim Lodge . . . panoramic Lake views, peace and tranquillity, nestled against acres of beautiful fields and woodlands, in the heart of the English Lake District National Park.’

Visit our website: www.blenheim-lodge.com

Email: enquiries@blenheim-lodge.com

Telephone: 015394 43440

This entry was posted in bed and breakfast late availability, Behind the scenes in a B&B, Blenheim Lodge, bowness-on-windermere, English Lake District, english lake district, lake district breaks, photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

