‘Oh, my noggin!’

Ah, how it hurt when I inadvertently banged my head against a door handle. I truly thought that blood would ooze and I would pass out. And all in the name of re-decoration! Hubby had decided to paint over a pair of very nice slatted built-in wardrobe doors although I had preferred them in their original oak. He thought that the new white colour would help them better blend into the refreshed decor of the room. As for me, I like natural wood, so I wasn’t so enamoured of the idea. Nevertheless, the deed was now done.

It was yesterday when my little accident took place. I was readying the room for a guest coming to stay, but the paint was still a little tacky and the wardrobe doors had not been shut properly. I wanted to open them and get Hubby to put the handles back on, so I yanked at the double doors. Unfortunately, I pulled back too hard and hit my temple. Stars and tweeting birds began circling round my head like one sees in those cartoons!

Gathering my wits about me, I made my way downstairs to confront that husband of mine. Aren’t spouses convenient sometimes? Especially when one wishes to lay the blame on one’s best mate. Hubby was all sympathy – not! The problem is that I could not be angry at him despite his cavalier attitude towards my injury. It actually was my own fault for knocking myself silly. I should have been more careful.

Hubby can make me laugh against the odds: indeed, despite my indignation and against my wishes. ‘Hey!’ he snickered, ‘Is that a boiled egg on your head?’ Oh, I could sometimes throttle the man! He’s lucky I have a sense of humour. And I am blessed that he has a sense of humour too. And that is one reason why our marriage works!

Spout Force on 5.5.14. Spout Force is located in the Whinlatter Forest, Lake District National Park.

Spout Force is located in the Whinlatter Forest, Lake District National Park.

Blenheim Lodge . . . panoramic Lake views, peace and tranquillity, nestled against acres of beautiful fields and woodlands, in the heart of the English Lake District National Park.’

Visit our website: www.blenheim-lodge.com

Email: enquiries@blenheim-lodge.com

Telephone: 015394 43440

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Behind the scenes in a B&B, Blenheim Lodge, family, marriage and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ‘Oh, my noggin!’

Leave a Reply

