Busy as a bee

It’s been a hectic week for me at Blenheim Lodge! Aside from the usual work in the guest house, I have had to complete my quarterly VAT returns, which, as per normal, stressed me out no end! Thus, what with the extra workload of doing the VAT returns, servicing the guest rooms and looking after all the various administrative tasks associated with running a Bed and Breakfast, I have found myself becoming rather run down. The end result? A stinking cold that had me shivering whilst others were dressed in summer wear!

Today is the first day that I have had any time to myself – all of 60 minutes, in fact. I was therefore determined to write at least a blog post, before continuing with all the regular tasks of preparing for – wait for it! – our final year accounts. So, here I am, writing on WordPress, having my lunch at the same time, and readying myself to go out to the bank and accountants so as to get one set, if not both sets, of accounts done.

The nice thing about today is that the weather is actually rather nice – not hot, not cold, but just right. It is a good day for running errands. I will go first to Windermere and then Ambleside, both just 1 and 4 miles respectively from Bowness, where our guest house is. And if I have time, I might even pop into the library at Ambleside, a little treat on the side as I love browsing the book shelves to check out any titles I might potentially wish to read.

There has been a hiatus between writing the above and the present moment. As the saying goes, ‘The best laid plans of mice and men . . . .’ We were replacing our old washing machine today and it took the engineer more than the 20 minutes he had estimated to fix up the new one. This delayed me somewhat, but eventually, at 4:30 pm, I told Hubby that I really had to make tracks if I were to reach and do business at the bank before its closing time at 5 pm. Of course, this meant that I never got to Ambleside, so my accounts are still sitting pretty at home. Perhaps I will manage to get there tomorrow.

I am really rather pleased with my new ‘toy’. I had not wanted to change my washing machine as I was rather fond of the last one. However, the gears in it were making a whiney noise and the engineer said that it would cost about half the price of a new machine to fix it when – not if – the time came. Better to bite the bullet then, especially as he was offering us 2 years parts and labour free of charge and was not only fixing the machine but also removing the old one. Cost? Close to £1000 except for £20 change! And that does not include VAT!

Both Hubby and I enjoy being busy in the guest house, so whilst it can be manic at times, it is still nice to have something to work towards and for. Last weekend saw an influx of swimmers staying at Blenheim Lodge for the Great North Swim. I wonder what this weekend will bring? We have late availability, so I am hoping that we will fill up soon.

claife heights, blenheim lodge, bowness on windermere, lake district

Claife Heights, our standard double room overlooking the Claife Heights mountains and lovely Lake Windermere views, is available this weekend.

Blenheim Lodge . . . panoramic Lake views, peace and tranquillity, nestled against acres of beautiful fields and woodlands, in the heart of the English Lake District National Park.’

Visit our website: www.blenheim-lodge.com

Email: enquiries@blenheim-lodge.com

Telephone: 015394 43440

This entry was posted in Activity Breaks, B&B guests, bed and breakfast late availability, Behind the scenes in a B&B, Blenheim Lodge, bowness-on-windermere, cumbria, English Lake District, english lake district, great north swim, lake district breaks, lake district holiday, lake district romantic breaks, lake district scenery, lake district special offers, lake district summer break, lake district weekend breaks, Lake Windermere Views, late availability, retreats, Romantic Breaks, Walking breaks, windermere weekend breaks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

