The fallibility of computers

Computers are a great asset when they work. I use mine for writing blog posts, email, other administrative tasks and photo storage and sharing. Oh! And also watching Antiques Road Trip and the Great British Bake Off whenever I have the time should I have missed an episode. Other than that, my computer does have a very cushy life indeed. I don’t do music on it, no movies except for the one MP4 of our B&B video which is stored on it, and that’s about it.

What I feel like when I look at my computer!

What I feel like when I look at my computer! (Image courtesy of www.dreamstime.com/royalty-free-stock-images.)

So, why oh why is my computer causing me so much angst? The wretched thing has come up with all kinds of unexpected blips, and when I call the tech centre to get them fixed, they still do not quite go away. For example, the menu bar at the top of my computer started to turn black  all of a sudden. It did this to me for a l-o-n-g time. Then, suddenly, it behaved again. Having lulled me into believing that it was now going to be good, the computer decided that it would revert to type. The tech could not fix it except to tell me to wipe the operating system for the tenth time and start anew. Did that fix it? Not on your nelly! The computer threw me more blacked out menu bars before suddenly deciding to show me some pity.

My chronically ill computer: I could cry with frustration! (Image courtesy of http://www.dreamstime.com/royalty-free-stock-photo-woman-upset-broken-computer.)

My chronically ill computer: I could cry with frustration! (Image courtesy of www.dreamstime.com/royalty-free-stock-photo.)

But the blacked out menu bar was a nuisance more than a hindrance. Not being able to work easily on Safari because the beach ball of death kept spinning and the application quitting became a major headache. iPhoto quitting and not allowing me to even name my photos made it impossible to use this application at all. And then, my keyboard decided it would join the fun: the colon sign decided that it would not play ball – it turned into a dash every time I tried to use it when naming a photo. (One day later and it has now begun to behave again! But for how long?)

How my computer must feel! (Image courtesy of www.dreamstime.com/stock-image.)

How my computer must feel! (Image courtesy of www.dreamstime.com/stock-image.)

My computer woes have compounded rather than decreased. Time keeping has become a problem as it will not record the time correctly when saving photo files. Thankfully the time on the clock remains correct – a mercy indeed. And photo files will not save properly so that I cannot save them to the correct file size. Nor will the computer always allow me to save the file with the name that I want: instead, it changes the name I want to use to the name of the previous photo file.

What my computer says of the time when saving photo files at present: 'Whatever . . . .' (Image courtesy of www.amazon.com.)

What my computer says of the time-keeping at present: ‘Whatever . . . .’ (Image courtesy of www.amazon.com.)

Worse, of course, has come. When all the trouble began, it did so with the disappearing top bar and Safari’s non-cooperation. One night when I was working very late on the computer, it emitted a burst of manic laughter and eerie music. Where from? I didn’t know and still don’t know. However I do know that someone else has experienced this eerie oddity when searching the internet.

And then . . . came the CRASH! Quite literally, the computer went black and would not re-start. Every time this happened, I had to call Apple support. One of the technicians told me that I ‘liked’ talking to them. I retorted by saying that I would not have phoned if my computer had not been displaying signs of disrepair. Silence at the other end of the line. And then, ‘Of course.’

My computer crashed a few times. (Image courtesy of www.dreamstime.com/stock-image.)

My computer crashed a few times. (Image courtesy of www.dreamstime.com/stock-image.)

Tomorrow, my computer will be returning to the repair shop to hopefully be prodded and poked and examined for faults that the technicians will fix. Its previous trip to the store had seen the technician in charge blatantly saying that the computer was in good heart. He would not listen to me nor to the senior technician at Apple who had sent it there.

My laptop is going to the computer hospital tomorrow. (Image courtesy of www.dreamstime.com/royalty-free-stock-photos-sick-computer.)

My laptop is going to the computer hospital tomorrow. (Image courtesy of www.dreamstime.com/royalty-free-stock-photos-sick-computer.)

So I may be without my computer for at least a week or more. If the technicians would just replace the corrupt logic board which the previous job sheet had specified but which the repair shop had not adhered to, perhaps then my computer will be fixed for good. Here’s hoping!

A fixed and happy computer for me, I hope! (Image courtesy of http://www.dreamstime.com/stock-illustration-cartoon.)

A fixed and happy computer for me, I hope! (Image courtesy of www.dreamstime.com/stock-illustration-cartoon.)

Blenheim Lodge . . . panoramic Lake views, peace and tranquillity, nestled against acres of beautiful fields and woodlands, in the heart of the English Lake District National Park.’

Visit our website: http://www.blenheim-lodge.com

Email: enquiries@blenheim-lodge.com

Telephone: 015394 43440

This entry was posted in Behind the scenes in a B&B, Blenheim Lodge, computer, english lake district and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

