Writing a story

I have always wanted to write stories. I suppose, now that I am all grown up and more, I would call these stories ‘novels’. When I read fiction, I tend to veer towards novels – never short stories. The few times when I have picked up a volume of short stories, I have always found it difficult to enter that other fictional world, and, more often than not, I have found myself putting the book down. Yet, I am quite happy reading an article, such as a newspaper or magazine article provided it is well written and pertains to topics in which I have an interest.

I think that one reason I enjoy novels is because the author has had time to weave and fully flesh out another world with its own sense of temporal and spatial awareness. Characters have been fleshed out so that one gets to ‘know’ who and what they are. The spaces they inhabit have also been delineated so that they become real within the confines of the novel itself. When I am truly absorbed in a story, I find it quite possible to identify with those characters. If the story is very good, those characters sometimes leap off the pages and journey with me away from their fictional environs into the real world. Is this fanciful? Most likely!

I would like to be able to write novels like that: stories which allow their readers to inhabit the world in which their characters live, breathe and move. I have not done any creative writing since my school days. However, I have heard it said that there is always at least one novel in a person. Wouldn’t it be nice to write at least the one? Of better yet, even more?

However, writing is for sharing. I don’t have the foggiest idea of how to publish my writing, should I take up the pen. One hears of people who publish but I really do not know how to go about it. It is something that I have been thinking about for a long time; and, whenever I have had the time, I have tried making internet searches on this very subject.

The new year, 2016, is almost upon us. By my reckoning, it will be just 1.5 hours before the UK welcomes New Year 2016. Perhaps I will try writing a novel of sorts in the ‘Pages’ section of WordPress. It would likely be a more appropriate place to write there than in a post, because I can then edit my page as often as I wish to.

Any advice, anyone?

Dove Cottage, Grasmere, Lake District

Dove Cottage, Grasmere, home of William Wordsworth, a famed and well loved Lakes romantic poet.

This entry was posted in Behind the scenes in a B&B, Blenheim Lodge, bowness-on-windermere, cumbria, English Lake District, wish list, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

