Waking up to a Winter wonderland!

Zack woke me up before 8 am today. I really really did not want to get up, but Zack was insistent. Today was meant to be a day off, a morning to sleep in until my eyes opened of their own accord. However, Zack had other ideas. He wanted the loo.

Zack is being cuddled. Look at that gleeful look in his eyes!

Zack is being cuddled. Look at that gleeful look in his eyes!

Having quickly fallen back to sleep, the next thing I knew was when Zack came round to my side of the bed again. Nudge, nudge went his nose against my shoulder. Out came my hand to stroke his flank – an automatic reaction. Zack was not satisfied. I would get no more sleep. Peering at my alarm clock, I noticed that it was only just 8:45 am; what did that dog want that I should have to get up for it? Perhaps he needed to go out again. I knew he had just returned from a walk, but if he needed to go, then he needed to go!

Up the stairs I went in search of Hubby. Zack moved unhurriedly behind me and . . . the cheek of it! . . . went to lie down. After waking me up? Hubby, as I suspected, was sitting in the lounge and enjoying a cup of tea. As I walked into this calm oasis, what an amazing sight greeted my eyes: a world of white glistening under a golden sun! It was absolutely gorgeous. Although I haven’t quite managed to catch it in the photograph, the Lake looked like it was frozen. ‘Thank you, Zack, for waking me up after all!’

Truly, when I saw this picture window view, I said to my husband, 'How lovely!'

Truly, when I saw this picture window view, I said to my husband, ‘How lovely!’

I walked through all the rooms in our B&B and went from one window to the next, looking out in awe at the most wonderful views of Winter wonderland. Hubby said I should take some photos and I stepped outside for a few moments to do so. The world lay sleeping at my feet – a restful hush untouched by breeze or movement. It was so beautiful I wanted the snow to lay forever, offering up as it did this magical scenery of lake, mountains and woodland.

Yachts looking like so much flotsam dot a frigid Windermere, whilst massive snow-covered fells tower beyond and above.

Yachts looking like so much flotsam dot a frigid Windermere, whilst massive snow-covered fells tower above and beyond. This photo was taken from one of our bedroom windows at Blenheim Lodge.

It is this scenery I want to share with you. I took lots of photos and so did our son. The lake and mountain views from our Bed and Breakfast are always stunning, but we do not get much snow, so this is really special. I hope you enjoy looking at the photos I have included in this post.

The view taken from Claife Heights, our standard double en-suite room at Blenheim Lodge.

The view taken from Claife Heights, a standard double en-suite room at Blenheim Lodge.

Why not come and share this scenery with us? You would be made most welcome! And remember, do take advantage of our SPECIAL OFFERS!

claife heights, blenheim lodge, bowness on windermere, lake district

Claife Heights, one of our standard double room overlooking the Claife Heights mountains and lovely Lake Windermere views

Blenheim Lodge . . . panoramic Lake views, peace and tranquillity, nestled against acres of beautiful fields and woodlands, in the heart of the English Lake District National Park.’

Visit our website: http://www.blenheim-lodge.com

Email: enquiries@blenheim-lodge.com

Telephone: 015394 43440

This entry was posted in bed and breakfast late availability, Behind the scenes in a B&B, Blenheim Lodge, bowness-on-windermere, cumbria, English Lake District, english lake district, lake district breaks, lake district scenery, lake district special offers, Lake District weather, Lake Windermere Views, late availability, retreats, single rooms for B&B, snow in lake district, Special Offers, valentine's day lake district break, windermere weekend breaks, Winter break in the Lake District, woodland views and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

