Tumbledown dee!

It was a pleasant evening, and I was upstairs with Zack, our Pyrenean Mountain Dog, when I heard a very loud thud. The dog looked at me and I looked at him. He did not seem concerned, and I heard nothing else, so I didn’t investigate and continued our pet adoration time together. Zack was certainly quite happy to have so much attention being heaped on him!

An adoring Zack!

Zack loves attention!

A couple of hours later, I brought the laptop into our bedroom downstairs and started to browse through pages of upholstery fabrics online. We have decided to order a tweed or check fabric to upholster our new handmade chairs. Five minutes later, Hubby, who had been sitting in the downstairs lounge, joined me. I watched as he winced whilst trying, very gingerly, to get under the covers. When he had finally lain down and we were both peering at the computer screen together, his hair flopped back and I noticed a couple of red marks on his forehead.

I turned round to face Hubby. ‘How did you get that mark on your head?’ Hubby looked sheepish but kept quiet.

‘Is that why I heard that loud noise earlier on? Did you fall or walk into something?’ An embarrassed smile was my answer.

Me: ‘You can’t even turn your body! Did you fall down the stairs and hit your head?’

Hubby’s face turned redder and redder by the second as he squirmed in mortification. He would not give me an answer except to say that he had not walked into anything. We continued to choose the fabric swatches together and then I helped to tuck my erstwhile husband into bed since he could not manoeuvre himself easily.

The next morning, I noticed that my husband was walking like his elderly father. He could barely move and had to take one stair at a time. I asked him again how he had hurt himself and found out that I had hit the nail on the head with one of my surmises. Hubby had forgotten to take his spectacles with him when he left our bedroom. He realised this when he was halfway up the stairs and tried to turn round to go back downstairs. His action had caused him to lose his balance and thus he had fallen down the last few steps and hit his head against the cupboard at the foot of the stairs. Poor Hubby!

My dear husband is now bruised and sore and I really do feel for him. I offered to rub some liniment into his bruises or to plaster them with proprietary Chinese plasters which are meant to reduce bruising and muscle pain. He refused.

Great to see a building I know still standing where it should be! This is where I get my Chinese plasters, which are great for relieving sore muscles. (Photo courtesy of www.flickr.com/photos/coolinsights/5722361556/sizes/m/in/photostream.)

This is where I get my Chinese plasters, which are great for relieving sore muscles. (Photo courtesy of http://www.flickr.com/photos/coolinsights/5722361556/sizes/m/in/photostream.)

This, the second evening, sees husband hobbling about, but at least he is mobile. He always puts a brave face on injuries and so I can only hope that the damage is not greater than what I can see. Meanwhile, I thank God that he has not been more severely hurt!

Blenheim Lodge . . . panoramic Lake views, peace and tranquillity, nestled against acres of beautiful fields and woodlands, in the heart of the English Lake District National Park.’

Visit our website: http://www.blenheim-lodge.com

Email: enquiries@blenheim-lodge.com

Telephone: 015394 43440

This entry was posted in Behind the scenes in a B&B, Blenheim Lodge, bowness-on-windermere, cumbria, English Lake District, english lake district, Lake District weather, prayer, Pyrenean Mountain Dog and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

