Waiting and thinking

I am sitting in our lounge, looking out at the Lake and fells, and my mind is mulling over a hundred different things as I await the arrival of a Laura Ashley interior designer who should arrive in 30 minutes’ time. This is the second time we have hired a Laura Ashley interior designer. The first designer has moved south and no longer works in the northwest of England. We rather liked her, so it is a loss indeed. Today will be my first meeting with the new designer and I am looking forward to meeting her.

The view from our lounge.

The view from our lounge.

But what has been preying on my mind lately regards a matter of greed. The news has been all about the Panama Papers and it makes me think of how greedy some people can be – even to the detriment of personal responsibility to a nation, as witness the Prime Minister of Iceland. When one thinks of what that small nation endured during the worst years of the financial crisis, it beggars belief that one of the persons most responsible for the well-being of the country should be so deceptive and, by implication, unscrupulous about his family’s financial affairs.

Taking into account the Panama Papers scandal, it probably does not sound like much, but I really hate it when people take advantage of others just because they can. That too is a form of greed. For example, witness the well-heeled man who drives a fancy BMW but stays at a £10 hostel and then cadges a full breakfast with all its trimmings by getting his friend (who was staying with us) to ask us for a meal on his behalf. Needless to say, nary a word of thanks was given by him nor his friend, both of whom expected the stingy friend to be fed free of charge rather than cooking at his hostel or going to a nearby cafe for a £10 breakfast. Personally, I would never do that, but then there are all kinds of people in the world!

Thoughts, thoughts, thoughts. They go round and around my mind sometimes. I think I must have one of those minds that cannot keep quiet. If I am not thinking, then I am doing, which of course requires thinking. And if I am doing and not really thinking, then I often have a song or tune in my head that seems to keep whirring like a spinning record that never ends. I cannot remember if I have always been like this, but I find myself envying Hubby who can simply sit quietly and look out at views or listen to music with much enjoyment. I, on the other hand, cannot even read whilst listening to music. It has to be one or the other.

Our relatives arrived at Blenheim Lodge to stay three nights with us. What a blessed time we enjoyed!

Blenheim Lodge

This is a kind of rambling post, and I feel almost like a character of Virginia Woolf’s with the authoress’s take on the ‘stream of consciousness’. Meanwhile, as 11 am approaches, my thoughts are once again turning to meeting the new designer who has an appointment then at Blenheim Lodge this morning. I am hopeful that she will be able to bring a fresh eye to the decor in our guest house.

Blenheim Lodge . . . panoramic Lake views, peace and tranquillity, nestled against acres of beautiful fields and woodlands, in the heart of the English Lake District National Park.’

Visit our website: http://www.blenheim-lodge.com

Email: enquiries@blenheim-lodge.com

Telephone: 015394 43440

This entry was posted in Behind the scenes in a B&B, Blenheim Lodge, bowness-on-windermere, cumbria, English Lake District and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

