‘You are my hiding place’

Over the past couple of days and even into the small hours of the night, I have awoken to this chorus in my heart:

You Are My Hiding Place

You are my hiding place
 You always fill my heart
 With songs of deliverance
 Whenever I am afraid
 I will trust in You
I will trust in You
 Let the weak say
 I am strong
 In the strength of the Lord
You are my hiding place
 You always fill my heart
 With songs of deliverance
 Whenever I am afraid
 I will trust in You
I will trust in You
 Let the weak say I am strong
 In the strength of the Lord
 I will trust in You

I first learnt this song in Edinburgh when it was introduced to us in church. The lyrics and music, written my Michael Ledner, are simple, tuneful, and oh, so meaningful, especially when one is feeling at sea, downcast, and at the end of one’s tether.

“You are my hiding place; you will protect me from trouble and surround me with songs of deliverance.” Psalm 32:7 (NIV)

“When I am afraid, I will trust in you.” Psalm 56:3 (NIV)

The Lord is indeed the believer's hiding place. When one is troubled, one shelters in His arms. (Image courtesy of biblepromises.com.)

The Lord is indeed the believer’s hiding place. When one is troubled, one shelters in His arms. (Image courtesy of biblepromises.com.)

Based on a couple of verses in the Psalms – incidentally my favourite book in the Bible – this song encapsulates the love and care God has for His creation: if only we would rest and trust in Him, He will give us His peace, and we need not be afraid. We are weak, but He is strong. He will hold us in His arms and encompass us within the shelter of His presence. Only have faith and trust in Him, and He will deliver us – hence those songs of deliverance which will fill our hearts. (You can hear a rendition of this song here.)

Life can sometimes be so very stressful. Learning to always trust in the Lord is not an easy thing. When things do not go the way one wants them to go, it is very easy indeed to worry. Yet the Bible tells us time and again not to do so. For example, in 1 Peter 5:7, one reads, ‘Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.’ If one does indeed cast all one’s anxiety on God, believing truly that He cares for us and will take care of all our worries and sorrows, then certainly there would be no need to stressed out at all.

Why has this song been on my heart and mind so much over the past couple of days and often in the past when I have been disconcerted, worried or unhappy? I think the answer lies in the fact that I get jittery whenever untoward circumstances beyond my control show up in my life. I like a seamless life – one that moves on an even keel without the ups and downs that affect one’s equilibrium, be it economically, physically, emotionally, spiritually, or indeed in any which way that throws awry the equilibrium of one’s life and of those whom one loves. When life conspires against me or mine, then I get naturally anxious. Having said all that, the Lord has been gradually teaching and changing me to become less wound up and to trust more deeply in Him over the years.

I suppose I am writing this post because this song has been much on my mind and I want to share it with others because its lyrics are uplifting, bringing hope to the spirits of those who are downcast. When life has been difficult, it has given me encouragement, reminding me in a timely manner that the Lord cares for me and will never forsake me. The song is in itself a kind of prayer, one that rises from the very soul to the Lord: ‘Oh, God, I will trust in You, even though my spirit is weak. But You are strong and will deliver me from all my fears. Help me trust in Your strength, Lord. Remind me that I may hide in You, take shelter in You, and expect Your deliverance from all those things that would sink me. I am weak, but You are strong. Uphold my little nugget of faith, small as a mustard seed, and remind me to lean upon You. I will trust in You!

This entry was posted in Behind the scenes in a B&B, bible verses, Blenheim Lodge, blessing, christian faith, Christian living, christianity, prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

