That lazy feeling

Have you ever experienced ‘that lazy feeling’? For me, this lazy feeling always seems to increase  – and I want further days to prolong it – when I am not doing anything. For example, we went to visit my family this weekend. This meant that I was off work; which in turn meant that I could put my feet up except when Sister needed help with chopping the vegetables for dinner. When I am feeling lazy, I just want to be lazier!

That lazy feeling is epitomised by a sleepy Zack when I chanced upon him in the grandparents' parlour.

That lazy feeling is well epitomised by a sleepy Zack when I chanced upon him in Grandparents’ parlour.

The thing is, as I was growing up, Mum used to tell me that I was a lazybones. My school reports often read, ‘Could do better.’ My first piano teacher, who took me up to Grade III, used to rap my knuckles with a ruler for not doing better. Then my second piano teacher, who taught me up to Grade V, would breathe a deep-felt sigh that seemed to begin from the soles of her feet, gaining momentum and pathos as it was released more than five feet higher on her breath. As for my violin teacher, he simply lost his temper. He did not shout or stamp his feet; but he would grab my violin and bow and hurl them across the tables in the classroom where I, it might have seemed, was numbly enduring one to one tuition with him. The latter sentiment was in fact erroneous: was the one who had pestered my parents for violin lessons.

Let me backtrack a little. That lazy feeling? Well, I did grow out of it in fits and starts. Notice I said ‘fits and starts’. And sort of. Again, notice that I have said ‘sort of’. Mother’s nagging did encourage me to work harder at school, and that desire to do well did enable me to complete a couple of postgraduate degrees too. The discipline meted out to me by my first piano teacher did go some way into making me work harder on those boring scales and arpeggios, so that I did well enough to get merits, if not distinctions. And as for my second piano teacher, her sighing made me feel SO guilty that I was shamed into practising doubly hard on the piano, resulting in later years to my attaining through auditions music bursaries at undergraduate school. What about the violin lessons, you ask? Well, I practised and practised, and found a new found respect for this brilliant violinist because he believed in me enough to egg me on.

So, what of the ‘fits and starts’ and ‘sort of’ caveats? Well, back to the very recent past. Read and you will see what I mean. It has been a lovely few days simply taking it easy. I hadn’t seen my sister, brother and mother properly since Christmas, and this lazy feeling of wanting to do nothing else except to spend time with them was actually rather special. Even the dog was lazy: he had so many hands ready to pet him; so many soft voices to speak with him so that he would look up with interest as if to say, ‘I understand.’

Happy is the dog which has the undivided attention of its human attendees!

Happy is the dog which has the undivided attention of its human companions!

There is, of course, a time for work as well as a time for play. And I am quite capable of quelling that lazy feeling as required. Now that I am back home, it is time to banish it and Hubby and I are back to working on what needs to be done at our Bed and Breakfast: from advertising our 4-Star accommodation to potential guests looking for a quiet getaway in the Lake District to refurbishing and refurnishing aspects of our guest house for 2017.

We have now re-opened Blenheim Lodge after our three-day sojourn with family. And I have been spending time putting up SPECIAL OFFERS on our website for Valentine’s Day and Valentine’s weekend breaks, as well as DISCOUNTS for midweek stays over Winter and Spring. I have even put up a WEEKLY BREAK OFFER on our website that runs right through the year.

The Attic room at Blenheim Lodge B&B boasts amazing lake and fell views and is great for a cosy romantic getaway this Valentine's.

The Attic room at Blenheim Lodge B&B boasts amazing lake and fell views and is great for a cosy romantic getaway this Valentine’s.

Panoramic views from the Velux window in The Attic bedroom at Blenheim Lodge. The window can also be flipped so that the pane of glass is standing upright instead of slanting.

Panoramic views from the Velux window in The Attic bedroom at Blenheim Lodge. The window can also be flipped so that the pane of glass is standing upright instead of slanting.

So, that lazy feeling? I think it will need to take a back seat for now. It is past time for that HARDWORKING feeling!

‘Blenheim Lodge . . . panoramic Lake views, peace and tranquillity, nestled against acres of beautiful fields and woodlands, in the heart of the English Lake District National Park.’

Visit our website: www.blenheim-lodge.com

Email: enquiries@blenheim-lodge.com

Phone: 00 44 (0)15394 43440

This entry was posted in Activity Breaks, B&B guests, Behind the scenes in a B&B, Blenheim Lodge, bowness-on-windermere, cumbria, Easter breaks, English Lake District, english lake district, family, lake district breaks, lake district holiday, lake district romantic breaks, lake district special offers, lake district summer break, lake district weekend breaks, lake district winter break, late availability, romance, Romantic Breaks, Special Offers, Spring breaks, travel, Walking breaks, windermere weekend breaks, Winter break in the Lake District and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

