Thou art worthy . . .

Thou art worthy, Thou art worthy
Thou art worthy, O Lord
To receive glory, glory and honour
Glory and honour and power
For Thou hast created, hast all things created
Thou hast created all things
And for Thy pleasure they are created
Thou art worthy, O Lord

© 1975 Fred Bock Music/Kingsway�s Thankyou Music

(www.audiblefaith.com/pages/sg853458)

‘Thou art worthy. . . .’ (Photo courtesy of www.awordforthesoul.com/2012/01/the-meaning-of-worship.)

I caught myself singing the first four lines of this song over and over again today as I went about the day’s business of taking care of the guest house. As I sang, I started to think about just how unworthy I really am given that God is the Almighty I AM. I felt that I was not even worthy of approaching Him with this paean of praise because He is so pure, so holy, and so glorious in His heavens.

And yet the Father calls me His child. I feel really humbled thinking about this simple fact. I, who am nothing but one small speck in the host of all humanity and the universe, have been made worthy by God the Father, because of my simple faith in the saving grace of His Son, Jesus Christ, who died and rose again to be my Lord and Saviour. And even that faith would not have been mine if the Lord had not opened my heart, mind, and spirit to accept Him.

The lyrics of this chorus come from Revelation 4:11.

Thou art worthy, O Lord, to receive glory and honour and power: for thou hast created all things, and for thy pleasure they are and were created.

(King James Bible, Cambridge Edition)

As I read this verse, I think of how controversial it can be if one were to consider the many evil acts that mankind commits in this world. Why would God create such people for His pleasure? A more modern translation makes the meaning of the verse rather clearer:

You are worthy, our Lord and God, to receive glory and honor and power, for you created all things, and by your will they were created and have their being.

(New International version, 1984)

The 5th to 7th lines of the lyrics reaffirm our place in God’s world. He loves us and we were created by Him in love and for Him to love. It is up to us whether we accept that love or whether we turn away from Him and reject His loving heart. Imagine being created by God that He might take pleasure in us! Isn’t that just so awesome a concept? And what does the Lord ask of us in return?

And what does the LORD require of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God.

(Micah 6:8. New International version, 1984)

‘Blenheim Lodge . . . panoramic Lake views, peace and tranquillity, nestled against acres of beautiful fields and woodlands, in the heart of the English Lake District National Park.’

Visit our website: www.blenheim-lodge.com

Email: enquiries@blenheim-lodge.com

Phone: 00 44 (0)15394 43440

 
This entry was posted in Behind the scenes in a B&B, bible verses, Blenheim Lodge, bowness-on-windermere, christian faith, Christian living, christianity, cumbria, English Lake District, english lake district, travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.